We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quickest seafood chowder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smuggler's Creek

Smuggler's Creek
Cliff Road, Rossnowlagh, Ireland
+353 71 985 2367
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Smuggler's Creek Inn is an Award-Winning Restaurant & Bar with Accommodation. It is situated on a cliff edge with breathtaking panoramic views over Rossnowlagh beach and Donegal Bay. The interior is decorated with seafaring theme, natural stone walls, original timber floors and beams. It's a very popular destination for locals & tourists alike.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“quickest seafood chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

very tasty and rich seafood chowder, very quick service, a fireplace that makes a huge difference for all freezing surfers, you can actually have your chowder just beside it, very friendly staff. We liked it so much that we actually already came back to have the meal there 2 days in a row. Fantastic views over the bay!!!! if you're lucky to get to sit at the window, bookings available though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    17
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Felt completely embarist!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My partner and his brother decided to go for sunday lunch and I suggested this place so off we went very much looking forward to it.. every thing was going fine food was served. Not long after this I looked at my partners face of dismay I asked whats wrong hed found a medium length ed black hair in the dinner now when id spoke to a thai lady who quickly telling us shes the owner! She looked at me like I was scum and trying to get out of paying for a meal I was totally embarist at her reaction as I had even spoke quietly as to not let it disturb anyone elses meal.. I can honestly stay me our any relation of mine will never be there again!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spent a lovely afternoon on a beautiful December day in the Smuggler's Creek. They were very busy when we arrived so on the manager's suggestion we made a booking and went for a stroll on the beach and then enjoyed a drink at the bar.

Once were seated, the table service was excellent, we had the garlic mussels to start with, which I think were the best garlic mussels I've ever had. I then had the fish and chips, which were really good, the fish had a nice light batter, it was a huge portion and I didn't finish it. The duck salad that my friend had was also really good. The menu is very well priced.

In addition to great food, the view is just stunning - even if you don't have time to come here for food it is worth driving up to enjoy a drink, especially on a good day when you can sit outside.

I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Chowder with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Never fails to impress, even on a cold crisp December day. Food and service excellent, and the mulled wine and chowder were outstanding. Booking advised, even for lunchtime.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very, very good...... At was absolutly amasing! We loved it!
we will be back tomorow, the day after hat!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smuggler's Creek also viewed

Rossnowlagh, County Donegal
 
Rossnowlagh, County Donegal
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
 

Been to Smuggler's Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smuggler's Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.