We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Sandhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Donegal Bay, Rossnowlagh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Newry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here and it really is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. A wonderful experience, staff friendly and the dining incredible. They are friendly and this is a big bonus, and nothing is too much trouble.
I would highly recommend this hotel, plus if you want you can bring your dog, amazing and the view 2nd to none.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    50
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
75
136
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2004

I regularly review Tripadvisor prior to booking my holidays and this is the first time I have wirtten a review as I feel everyone has to be told about this hotel.

We stayed at this most fantastic hideaway in October 2004 and were literally blown away! Not only had we a most spectacular view from our room (we were upgraded!) but the staff couldn't have been more courteous. Everyone, from the manager Mr Paul Diver to the girls at reception and the waitresses in the restaurant were just splendid. This is Irish hospitality at its best and other Irish hotels should take note!

This is definately the place to go if you are looking for romance, peace and quiet, fantastic sea walks and excellent food. The adjoining SPA is great to unwind after the long walks on the beach!

Cannot wait to go back here. Only 3 hours drive from Dublin!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2004

We stayed at the Sand House Hotel for 2 nights B&B and 1 Dinner. The cost was €260 pps. The value was excellent. The staff are outstanding - they referred to us by name each time we met. The owner visited each table in the restaurant and introduced himself and thanked us for choosing the Sand House. The food was top quality, well presented and served with courtesy. The room was actually a mini suite. A four poster bed facing a huge window overlooking the beach - spectacular. We are arranging a second visit quite soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2002

I stayed at the Sand House Hotel during the summer of 2000 and it is one of the most wonderful places I've ever been. The hotel faces the sea--get a room on that side of the hotel if you can. It's a breathtaking view. The hotel is elegant and comfortable, although it's in a very remote location. The hotel restaurant is out of this world. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I also can't wait to return there!

  • Stayed July 2000
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Donegal Bay, Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 Star Manor House Hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truely relaxing experience. Marine Spa with Balneo Bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh
Sandhouse Hotel County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.