We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Sandhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Donegal Bay, Rossnowlagh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lisburn
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to have a meal last night and thought of the Sand house. A great decision. Very friendly staff. Lovely dining room with great views since is was moved upstairs. The menu was so nice that it was difficult to choose. Well presented and as tasted as described. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    53
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
77
152
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked Sandhouse hotel for Valentines night. On arrival the fire was lite and inviting and we were welcomed back by Elizabeth. From start to finish the attention to detail was second to none. Our bedroom or should I say suite which looked over the Atlantic was spotlessly clean and met all our needs. Dinner in the evening was superb as was breakfast. The staff were attentive and professional and catered for our every need. Can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

have stayed at this hotel twice and is it was for 2 very special occasions we paid extra for the stunning sea views. we were given a huge corner room for our second stay. It is a very quiet, relaxing hotel. It is quite pricey and I would like to see them do more appealing special offers as like I said, we splashed out for special occasions! We enjoyed dinner in their sea-view restaurant during our second stay & ate in the nearby Smugglers Creek during our first stay. If you like beautiful scenery, sipping cold drinks on a balcony or by an open fire,romantic strolls on the beach & some peace & quiet in an old-world hotel then don't hesitate, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just spent an overnight stay in the Sandhouse Hotel in Rossnowlagh while attending a family wedding.

The setting is spectacular...right on the beach.

Our bedroom room looked out onto the Atlantic and the view was breathtaking.
The room itself was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was served in an upstairs room with huge windows overlooking the ocean .

The food provided at the wedding reception was probably the best I have ever had at a large function.

However my highest praise is for the service given by the Staff. Their friendly and attentive service was excellent from beginning to end.

Well done to all ...I hope I get back to your hotel someday...perhaps when the weather is a better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach..amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just spent an overnight stay in the Sandhouse Hotel in Rossnowlagh while attending a wedding. I had really thought that the old style of service offered by hotels had gone. What a really pleasant surprise to find the self same service alive and well and living in the Sandhouse in Rossnowlagh. From check-in to check-out, everything was perfect. The room given to us faced the wild Atlantic and the view was breathtaking. The room itself was very large and had all required facilities. The bed was large and comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities was provided. Breakfast was probably one of the best I ever tasted with super service. Old style comfort is in abundance at the Sandhouse with lots of comfortable seating provided in the many nooks and crannies that I suspect would be a delight for exploring by younger guests. The greatest attribute for the hotel is the service given by the Staff. Their friendly and attentive service was beyond compare. The Manager should be very proud of his superb hotel and catering staff. The food provided at the wedding reception was also of excellent quality and supplied in portions to satisfy the mightiest appetite. All in all we were very impressed with the Sandhouse Hotel and intend to return in the very near future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Atlantic are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

On the 28Dec.2013 I stayed innthis hotel .Pleasent surroundings,helpful staff and super meals.made me feel at home without the worry.Rooms were clean and tidy with large bed.Food was just superb and myself and my family enjoyed our stay.Thanks to Paul and all his staff.

Room Tip: room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We recently had a family occasion here, from start to finish our night was fantastic. The staff and manager are amazing, nothing was too much trouble. The dinner and breakfast were lovely, fresh food served, could not fault anything. Amazing views. Definitely a special place that has to be experienced to appreciate. Well done guys!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhouse Hotel

Address: Donegal Bay, Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Rossnowlagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rossnowlagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 Star Manor House Hotel is located on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean overlooking Donegal Bay and Rossnowlagh Beach. Award winning cuisine, fine wine and local staff mix to give a truely relaxing experience. Marine Spa with Seaweed Bath, Jacuzzi steam room and 8 treatments rooms is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Sandhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhouse Hotel Rossnowlagh
Sandhouse Hotel County Donegal, Ireland - Rossnowlagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.