We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bringing Sam home!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radharc an Oileain B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Radharc an Oileain B&B to your Saves list
Radharc an Oileain B&B
Quay Road, Dungloe, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Dungloe B&B and Inns
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bringing Sam home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a fantastic little B&B!! Grace is a fabulous hostess and made us both feel very welcome as soon as we arrived, with tea, coffee and cakes all laid on for us. The room was very tastefully decorated and was immaculately clean with everything that you need (hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, iron, tea & coffee making facilities). The bed was very comfortable and the bath towels were totally luxurious.
Breakfast was a hearty affair with all the trimmings. And if you don't fancy a cooked breakfast then there are plenty of cereals, fruit and yoghurt available.
Radharc an Oileain is ideally situated in a quiet street off the main street in Dungloe and is only a few minutes walk from the heart of the town.
We had a fantastic weekend in Dungloe watching the All-Ireland football final.....just wished we had extended by a few more days just to see Sam coming back home to the hills of Donegal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Having arrived(mum, dad and 8 year old daughter) in the middle of the "Mary from Dungloe" festival week, and a bit late in the afternoon, without any reservation, we were warmly greeted by the owner and even though no family room was available at the time, we were offered an alternative double room with an improvised camping bed for our daughter(she loved the idea)!
The room was 10 out 10 (quality of bed, mattress, flat screen tv with dvd, luxury toilet, clean, free wi-fi and great views). The breakfast was class, one of the best we ever had in Ireland.
It's just one of those places...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay in the guest house, with a hostess who was very pleasant and helpful. The setting overlooked the bay, a delightful spot in sunshine conditions. Breakfasts were very good and overall the accommodation was clean and well planned.

Room Tip: No 2 room was well planned with all facilities needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnmoney, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Only writing this review now, but stayed in September 2011 with my dad for a hiking weekend. Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short due to awful stormy weather which was affecting both Northern and Southern Ireland, but we thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night in Radharc an Oileain. It is a lovely b&b situated down a quiet road in the small town of Dungloe in Donegal. I stayed in Dungloe 4 or 5 summers back whilst taking part in the Mary Of Dungloe Festival, so it was lovely to get back to my favourite little Irish town. Grace is a lovely host, naturally friendly and gave us a typical warm Irish welcome (us arriving soaked to the skin and covered in mud after getting caught in a rainstorm up Errigal Mountain!!!) Grace showed us to our lovely twin room (actually, double bed and single bed), and then made us some hot tea and cake and chatted to us about general life. Our bedroom was decorated in cream and black / chrome tones, and the ensuite shower room was of such a high standard, lovely tiles and fixtures. Next to the ensuite was a room with wardrobe space, mirror, hairdyer etc, and I used it like a little changing room - very handy. That night, my dad and I went to a bar/restaurant down the bottom of the town in Dungloe, it was packed with people and served excellent food (we imagined it must be a hot spot in Dungloe).
The following morning Grace made us a lovely breakfast before we had to pack up and head back to Northern Ireland.
We definitely hope to return to Radharc an Oileain, maybe summer 2012 for some more hiking!!
Thanks to Grace and her little helper Mikaela!!
Bill and Hannah-Ruth, Co. Antrim

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

A really nice and convenient place to stay. Room had an excellent view of the bay and was spotless. Great breakfast! Grace was so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Mrs McCauley has a lovely place and welcomed us with refreshments. made us feel at home and looked after us well. the rooms were really well furnished and very comfortable. lovely breakfast room and a very good cooked breakfast. we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lovely room, walk-in closet and a beautiful bathroom ( More beautiful than mine and I love my bathroom!) Very clean and spacy.
The owner Grace is very nice and gives us a warm welcome.

If we are visiting Donegal again we certainly want to stay here!

Kees en Tineke Holland

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radharc an Oileain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radharc an Oileain B&B

Address: Quay Road, Dungloe, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dungloe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dungloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radharc an Oileain bed and breakfast accommodation in Dungloe is set in a peaceful and scenic location on Quay Road and is set amongst lovely gardens where guests can read, relax and chill out. We are located just 5 minutes walk from Dungloe town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Radharc an Oileain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radharc an Oileain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.