We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no longer the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melly's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Melly's Cafe
Main Street, Killybegs, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 13 Restaurants in Killybegs
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“no longer the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

this place was once famous for its fish and chips. I ordered 70 euro worth of food for friends. It was awful, and expensive. The most expensive Ive ever had in Ireland. there are better places in Killybegs to have fish and chips

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Was very disappointed on my last visit to the cafe. I had some soup that was no more than packet soup no way could you call it homemade. People along with me didn't finish there food as they said it wasn't great the service leaves alot to be desired the menu was practically thrown at us by a girl who mumbled everything. Really felt robbed as I left paying for soup I could have got from a cup a soup, as I remember it used to be a brilliant spot maybe we just went on a bad day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Emmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great fish & chips. Right on the Main Street. Very pleasant staff.Menu very varied chicken kebabs burgers. all good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great service, no nonsence cafe with a takeaway, we ate in and were treated to piping hot fish and chips and tea and excellent friendly service. Worth a visit!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Coffee and so much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Called in for a coffee and snack, very high standard with friendly helpful staff, delicious food ( homemade) even free Wi Fi !
Easy to park outside or round the corner. Not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melly's Cafe also viewed

Killybegs, County Donegal
Killybegs, County Donegal
 
Killybegs, County Donegal
Killybegs, County Donegal
 

Been to Melly's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melly's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.