We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel to your Saves list
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Tipperary
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. 5-star experience. Both my wife & I had our wedding reception here on Friday August 7th. What a spectacular day, and even made more special by the hotel & staff. Everyone one of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening & long into the night. Of the wedding guests we spoke to the following day, everyone remarked on how good the food was, (how tender the beef was) , how good the service was & how amazing, I mean amazing the ballroom looked. Prior to booking the Vienna Woods for our wedding, we looked at hotels all around Cork City, East Cork, Blarney etc & by far did Vienna Woods stand out. All the staff are so friendly & helpful. Michael Magner, hotel director, made sure our day went perfect, even down to the lavender he personally placed on our wedding cake to match the cake ribbon. I'm not into all that stuff, but my wife is, and she was thrilled. So, to all the staff at Vienna Woods, thanks allot, I can thank you enough. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    82
    41
    8
    10
See reviews for
125
129
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Just back from a wedding in the Fitzgeralds Venna Woods Hotel Cork,, One Word,,,Wow!! The hotel has been taken over in the past 3 years and what a refurbishment has taken place. The ballroom is probably one of the finest I have seen in recent years. We stayed in the holiday villas for the weekend they worked out at such a good rate for the 3 nights we stayed there. They were so comfy and so well layed out. The staff were so accomodating and couldnt do enought for us throughout the stay. I definately will be back, and it will be my wedding venue of choice in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

we had the greatest day of our lives,what a fantastic hotel,best food ,best staff,best place in cork to get married.michael is a perfectionest in what he does and such a pleasant person to deal with.from the moment we booked the hotel to the day of our wedding everything we wanted was done in a way only vienna woods can do.
wish we could do it all again.thanks to michael and all his staff ye were brilliant.
loved it loved it loved it

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at the Villa's and had a wonderful time! The four bedrooms each had a bathroom and the entire place just had a wonderful feel. We didn't have a car and we did have to pay about 20 Euros per day in taxi fare, but it was well worth it! The hotel staff are so friendly and wonderful! The owner/manager found out it was my mom's 80th birthday and surprised her with a complimentary bottle of champagne and baloons!! We hope to be back soon! The linens were wonderful with extremely comfortable beds and pillows. The only negative was that the water pressure was low, and the showers we took didn't have the water flow that we are used to. All of the staff are amazingly helpful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We got married in Vienna Woods in July. Absolutly everything about it was brillant
Michael Magner who looked after us is the best in the business.
The food , the room , decorations , staff absolutly everything was excellent.
All my friends and relatives commented on the staff - they could nt belive how professional and nice everyone was -
I have been to so many weddings in Cork and I can say 100 % there is no place better than Vienna Woods if you are comsidering wedding venues.
All you have to do is book the date and you are in the best hands ever with Michael Magner who treats your wedding day likes its his own and leaves no stone unturned to ensure you will remeber your day forever.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

I attended a relatives wedding last week at The Vienna Woods Hotel in Cork. Wow - what a superb venue for the wedding reception. My husband and our new baby arrived at the hotel before noon hoping that we could check in early. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the receptionist and were delighted that without prior notice they facilitated us with an early check in. The hotel itself is very charming and has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. There were fresh flowers beautifully arranged throughout. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with no difficulty fitting the baby pram and all the trappings that we had arrived with! The wedding reception itself was just brilliant. There was a lovely drinks reception with tasty canapes and as it was a sunny day there were tables and chairs set up outside which really added to the atmosphere. The ballroom was decorated so beautifully with wonderful candelabras on every table. The meal was simply delicious and what struck me most was the professional service. Everything was executed with ease by very friendly staff. It was certainly a wedding to remember. Breakfast next morning was very tasty and we enjoyed chatting with family over coffee well after the set breakfast time had passed. We finished off our trip with some shopping in Cork city which is only a 5 minute drive away. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caherdaniel, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Excellent stay - very good value - superb breakfast buffet - good dinner & very pleasant service - a professionally run hotel. Whenever we're near Cork, this will be our hotel of choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.