We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel to your Saves list
Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed recently as we were in the hotel for a wedding, Despite being very busy when we arrived, we both found the staff to be very helpful. The room was very clean, comfortable and bright. The food at the wedding was very good and promptly served and there was no shortage of staff, my only little gripe was the hotel bar. The staff on duty seemed to be new and unsure of what to do and as a result the coolers weren't on and no body was sure how to use the coffee machine, this didn't stop anybody enjoying themselves however.
On the whole I would return again and would recommned it to others

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad that your time with us was well enjoyed.
As a family run hotel we take pride in our staff and our ability to look after each of our guests to the best of our ability.

Staff training for all new staff is something we take seriously and is ongoing to ensure all new additions to our team are fully equipped to provide the very best guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again soon.

Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    77
    37
    7
    10
See reviews for
117
124
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Vienna Woods Hotel in Glanmire for my brother’s wedding. Having been to their sister hotel in Adare previously, we thought we knew what would be in store. And while the Adare hotel is excellent, the Vienna Woods is in a league of its own. It is difficult to express just how impressive our stay was. All of the wedding guests who travelled from Cork, Clare, Dublin and from further afield enjoyed their stay. From rooms to food to service, the standard was excellent.

The hotel’s setting was ideal for our occasion; the rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. The food was out of this world. Catering for a wedding of 250 odd guests cannot be a simple task, but not one quibble was to be heard.

But all of this would amount to very little were it not for the staff at the hotel. To say they were good would not do them justice. To say they were brilliant would barely scratch the surface. Michael Magner and his team were simply immense. While the wedding guests were impressed with the level of service they received, what they saw was merely the tip of the iceberg. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them during the organising of the wedding. Any issue was dealt with promptly and efficiently, and the result was simply amazing. Even on the morning of the wedding, they were kind enough to dismantle the flower arrangement in reception to decorate the wedding cars. As I mentioned already – nothing was too much trouble!

And though they were all outstanding at what they did, Michael Magner was first among equals. His attention to detail was unparalleled. With the minimum of fuss, he spearheaded what was a five star experience for my brother, his wife and indeed for all of us. Throughout our stay, he took an interest in our entire event, regardless of whether it was taking place in his hotel or elsewhere in the city. His experience and expertise was always on hand and was delivered with warmth and charm.

I cannot praise this hotel and its staff highly enough. If you want an ordinary hotel, choose anywhere you want. If you want an extraordinary hotel, choose the Vienna Woods.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sean C,

Thank you so much for your review, it was our pleasure to look after you all and we appreciate you sharing your experience for other guests to enjoy.

We are delighted that the day was so enjoyable for your families and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

From Michael Magner and all the team here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Booked at short notice (less than 24 hours). Made very welcome. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere in the bar and good selection of beers and spirits. Didn't,t use the restaurant for dinner but the selection and quality of the bar snacks was very good.
The room I had was well appointed and very comfortable. Excellent nights sleep.
Good selection of food at breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms close to the hotel delivery point
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear artifex1954,

Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt so well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
From all of us here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in Vienna Woods in room 105 last saturday night for a friends wedding. The hotel in general was lovely, the entrance is nice and the reception room for the wedding was beautiful. Unfortunately when we arrived at 3pm the toilets downstairs were flooded, not pleasant in your best shoes. We wanted to check in at 3pm ( a resonable request I think) but were told it wouldn't be ready until 4pm, we then came back at 4pm and were told our room still wasn't ready and wouldn't be ready until 5pm. We finally checked into our room at 5:20pm.. the reason we were giving at 3pm was that the people from the night before hadn't checked out, the reason at 4pm was that the room hadn't been cleaned yet. The female receptionist did organise for someone to help us bring our things to our room. When we arrived in our room the bed was clean and dressed but unfortunately the bathroom was very disappointing, there was scum/mould on the toilet roll holder and a large crack in the sink which looked like a great home for all sorts of germs to hang out ! Having spoken to friends since they were all surprised with my review of the hotel but said I must have been in the "old part of the hotel"... Have to say the food at the wedding reception was so tasty and the beef was melt your in mouth ... I did get a very warm family feel but the room let them down....

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the older part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear hopalong123,

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your evening spent with us here in our family run hotel.

As this is a public forum we would like to explain the measures taken in response to some of your difficulties with our hotel for all our guests.

Unfortunately the main ladies bathrooms did suffer from overflowing water due to the sinks being blocked with tissue and the taps left running by children attending a hotel event. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel but children will always be children.
As soon as management became aware of this issue it was cleaned and dealt with immediately to avoid any further inconvenience to our guests.

In relation to room 105, as a wedding guest you would have received a unique wedding promotional code for the wedding you attended which would have given you access to our wedding guest rates and accommodation types.
The room you selected during your online booking process was a Traditional Room. The room is accompanied by a highlighted description of and is sold at a heavily reduced rate to compensate for the fact that they are located in the original 18th century house.
We take customer feedback very seriously here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel and thanks to your comments, the sink and toilet roll holder in the bathroom of room 105 have both been replaced.
We offer several room types in the newly built sections of our hotel that include Classic Guestrooms, Mini Suites and Self-Catering Villa options.

Our check in time is 4pm which would have been communicated to you during your booking process, however you did experience a further delay which we apologize for, as your room was serviced. The Reception Manager offered to keep your bags secure at reception so you could enjoy the wedding reception and explained he would have the bags placed in your room and make you aware as soon as your room was prepared so as to reduce waiting time as much as possible.

Again, we would like to thank you for your kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed the service and quality of food during your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Vienna woods hotel. Being Celiac and having specific dietary requirements, I had both a fabulous lunch in the bar and a stunning dinner later in their amazing restaurant. thank you so much for making dining out a pleasure again. The Management and staff were absolutely fantastic & fun. thank you for a great stay. Hazel Mitchell, Ballydoole House, Pallaskenry, Co. Limerick

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Hazel,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that the event you attend here with us was such a success.

We are proud to be able to look after most dietary requirements and make a point of ensuring that all tastes are looked after.

Kind regards,
Tara Cronin and all the staff at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our sincere thanks to Michael and all the team at the Vienna Woods hotel for making our wedding day in March 2013 so special for us. Your attention to detail, advice and expertise in planning our day was exceptional. We had over 300 guests and they too were highly impressed with the character of the hotel, helpfulness of the staff and the quality of the food. We have some wonderful photos of the day thanks to the elegant stairways and rooms of the hotel.Thanks for going that extra mile with lots special touches for us. If we could do it all over again we would! Gerard & Margaret

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Gerard & Margaret,

Thanks for getting back in touch, we are delighted that you both enjoyed your special day with us and glad to be able to make it that little bit special for you and your guests.

Congratulations to you both.

From Michael and all the team here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have stayed at Vienna Woods on a few occasions. At the hotel itself, (for weddings)and the villas for a break away.
From the moment you step into the foyer, you get a welcoming feel. The same staff have been here for years. They are extremely friendly and accommodating. One gets the feeling, it is almost like a family runs it.
The food is excellent. Many of the local community dine here.
Rooms are clean and perfectly adequate in size.
It is a popular wedding venue (of which I have been to many). The function room is a good size with good facilities.
There are a couple of chandeliers in the common areas. Gorgeous.
Christmas time here is a beautiful time. Massive Christmas trees, beautifully decorated.
I cannot think of a single negative thing. 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Adelle K,

Thank you very much for your review and comments. We are indeed part of a family run hotel group and have been in operation for 30 years now with knowledge and experience of the hotel industry being passed down now to the second and third generation.

We took over Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel in 2006 and are thrilled that you have been able to visit us so often and have, on each occasion, enjoyed your stay and felt well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again.

Kind regards,
Tara and all the Staff here at Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Address: Lower Glanmire Road | 1/2 mile from roundabout, Glanmire, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Glanmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glanmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corks premier wedding venue. Nestled in 22 acres of private woodlands, originally built by the founders of the Beamish Brewery over 200 years ago, today the Hotel is owned and run by the Fitzgerald family. Large open fireplaces, High corniced ceilings, Gold framed Oil paintings, and lots of comfy sofas set the scene. With 50 bedrooms, Crawford’s Bar & Conservatory, weekly Sunday Brunch, and eight luxury holiday Villas this we offers the country experience on the edge of the Cork city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods Cork
Hotel Fitzgeralds Vienna Woods

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.