We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriel House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oriel House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballincollig, Cork City, Ballincollig 021, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ballincollig
Portlaosie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here during a family wedding, it is a beautiful hotel, very nice & spacious rooms, family room very good size(2 Adults & 2 Children) very handy having a bath in room for children, rooms were extremely warm, staff were always very nice and very helpful, we had a dodgy key card which was a bit a nuisance, food very good, a little slow in the bar with serivce

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback from your recent stay with us at Oriel House Hotel Leisure Club and Spa. Thank you for your nice comments in relation to the members of staff, I am delighted they enhanced your stay. I have arranged for a re-service of the key lock system based on your comments to ensure the system is 100% in working order and will also speak to the team about the bar service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriel House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    97
    60
    26
    20
See reviews for
96
93
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I again stayed at this excellent hotel. I decided to book at the hotel since my last visit a year ago was excellent.

The staff were kind, polite, helpful and gave me great advice. The service they provided was second to non.

The hotel was clean and the facilities perfect. You also had the inclusive use of the swimming pool, sauna and spar. Even the internet service had been renewed and worked perfectly.

The breakfast was inclusive in the price I paid and was a abundance of great selection. You have a vast selection and the service was great.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The value for money was brilliant and certainly worth every Euro.

The hotel location was great and away from the main city centre. It only took 15 minutes on a regular public transport route to Cork Centre. You have a great transport network from Cork and allows you to see the picturesque area. I had a great 10 days relaxing and relishing the great sites.

I will again return to this hotel and hope to be blessed with the glorious sunny weather I had on my last 2 visits.

A pleasure to stay at the hotel and enjoy the delights of Eire.

Room Tip: The double rooms are all I have used and are excellent. You have full inclusive use of the TV and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your experience here at the Oriel House Hotel Leisure Club and Spa. We are delighted you came back to visit us again and recognise that the hotel was as great as you had experienced on you first visit. Thank you for your recommending us to everyone - it is through word of mouth that we increase our business. Thanks again for your nice comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just after a great weekend family wedding in Oriel. Everything was great, from check in the staff were really friendly, helpful and took an interest in what we needed. The night manager is a wee gem! He was so lovely even though I was asking for warm milk at 330am for child!
Breakfast staff too were more than helpful.
All and all a great experience, good food, clean rooms, helpful staff and great atmosphere, would definitley reccomend :) oh and the manager opened kids playroom for kiddies day after wedding they had a ball! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you kindly for submitting your comments based on your recent stay with us at Oriel House Hotel Leisure Club and Spa. I am delighted members of our team enhanced your experience. Will ensure all of the team are made aware of your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a mixed experience stay at Oriel. Never been there before and I found some good aspects and some that were not-so-good from my point of view.

The check-in went smoothly, no problems and didn't take long.
I was pleasantly surprised by the good sized rooms and that it had some features that cannot always be found in other hotels of the same quality. One example is the iron and ironing board which, in a business trip especially, is a must. The room, also, had hair dryer, acceptable TV set, good choice of toiletries, mini-bar (which was empty) and a tea&coffee tray with coffee, sugar and tea.

Another aspect that is important for me - the rooms and bathrooms need to be clean. Which they were. Every day, the staff did their job properly and I have nothing to complain about cleanliness.

Air conditioning was, also, something that I needed during my stay and it was ok and worked perfectly.

The not-so-good aspects of my stay:
- the breakfast doesn't offer too many options: one can find all the ingredients of an English or Irish breakfast (no more than six ingredients, though), four types of juices, one type of bread (two if one counts the toast that is brought at the table together with coffee/tea), yoghurts, cereals, fruits (canned or fresh) and one type of pastry for desert.
The only morning when there was something else apart from the list above was the one when a large group of French people joined the breakfast: there was, additionally, several types of cheese and croissants.
- Both the room and the bathroom need some renovation: walls in the room were scratched or had marks, the ceiling in the bathroom seemed to have a history of water being over spilled in the room above it. Lots of it.
- The internet connection disconnected from time to time: the transfer rate was acceptable but every 10 or so minutes there was a period of 5 minutes or so when I had no access to internet. Very annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments from your recent stay with us at Oriel House Hotel Leisure Club and Spa. We are constantly striving to improve the service here at Oriel House and its through our customer feedback we are able to do this. We are currently getting increased capacity from our broadband provider so the internet will not drop off as described and should be completed by the end of July. We are in the process of doing light refurbishments in the public areas and will be moving to the bedrooms after this. Thank you for your helpful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Oriel House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathfriland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a 5 night B&B break with the family in the week after Easter. Mixed experience. Checked in and pleasently surprised that check in staff acknowledged our special dietry request for our 2 year old (dairy allergy) and said kitchen aware. Room was so so - think it was a smoking room - didn't think you could still get those?? Not great for family. Bathroom also had a smell of bad drains. First night went for meal in the bar - service slow and would echo other comments on here about kids meals - brought theirs and then we had to wait 40 mins before adult meals came, by which time the kids were bored and just wanted to leave - staff attitude was not great either when we asked whether our meals were coming - spoilt our meal for us and we did not return the rest of our stay.
On the positive side, reception staff were more than pleasant and apologised for our experience in the bar and discounted the food bill.
Breakfasts were decent - plenty of choice, although service was not consistent throughout our stay - some days seemed a bit understaffed, and the breakfast menus only appeared on the tables 2 out of our 5 days there.
Other facilities good - didn't use spa, but pool was great for kids.
Don't expect much from Balincollig - bit of a ghost town with a massive new shopping centre less than half full - a remnant of a more prosperous time I suspect. That's nothing to do with the hotel though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I will advise the relevant departmental managers ref your comments in relation to the bar offering to action same. I will speak to our front desk team also about advising our guests on things to do in the area as disappointed to read you felt not much to do in Ballincollig, we have indoor play centre for children, newly opened roller skate rink, five minutes drive to farran woods where you can feed live animals, skateboard park and playground in the regional park and only 10mins drive from Blarney castle. Thanks again for taking the time to post your feedback for us to action points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really enjoyed stay. Quick check in after a long journey. Staff, especially in dining room excellent. Most friendly and helpful. Leisure centre is spacious. Overall Great value for money. Only downside foyer is small and with doors opening constantly quite cold.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Delighted to read your nice comments. Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oriel House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel over Easter break and glad we did we booked a 2 night stay and because we were really enjoying ourselves we booked a extra night stay , large spotless clean bedroom great leisure facilities for both adults and kids breakfast was really enjoyable with plenty on offer. We had bar food each night of our stay and the waitress explained it was a new bar menu well we enjoyed our meals on each evening and our kids aged 5 & 9 cleaned there plates each night . We found the staff very friendly and pleasant in all areas of the hotel . Would we return the answer would be yes sooner than later . So thanks to all at the Oriel hotel for making our Easter family break away most enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick-Dillon, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Address: Ballincollig, Cork City, Ballincollig 021, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriel House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.