We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrigaline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood House
Save
You added Glenwood House to your Saves list
Ballinrea Road, Carrigaline, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Carrigaline B&B and Inns
Berkeley Vale, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“basic accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Without a sat nav difficult to negotiate Cork and find Carragaline but we managed at last..Adrian was very helpful with directions to Cobh,
Wouldn't class the hotel as 4star luxury. bathroom very oldfashioned and having the shower over the bath very inconvenient..

Had the smallest serve of scrambled eggs imaginable. maybe the chooks weren't laying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorkSeve, Owner at Glenwood House, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Joan,

Thank you choosing to stay at our guesthouse on your recent trip. We are however disappointed that you had a problem with the en suite facilities. We would happily have accommodated you in a room with walk in shower had that been preferable.
Our standard serving for scrambled eggs is two large eggs but we have no problem providing larger portions at no extra charge when requested.
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback.

Adrian & Noelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 as part of business travel and found the staff very friendly and the prices very competitive.

The room layout and furniture however was very basic. I had to plug in an electric heater (provided in the room) to take the chill out of the bedroom and bathroom.

The shower was powerful and there was a handy trouser press in my room. There was homemade food on offer for breakfast and dinner which was very nice.

Overall for the price was good value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorkSeve, Owner at Glenwood House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your review following your recent stay. Your comments are appreciated and we will endeavour to maintain, and improve where necessary, our standards at Glenwood House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner and myself have stayed here on many occasions and have found the rooms spotless and comfortable. The staff were excellent and polite and very helpful.. The breakfast was top quality and excellent. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband has stayed here before but this was my first time. What a delightful place with owners to match. The breakfast was the best I have ever had and I was even tempted to eat a cooked breakfast. Plenty of fresh fruit and good quality grown-up cereal! Rooms are comfortable and supply everything you need, even a bottle of water. Nothing is too much trouble and they go that extra mile to please. You will not be disappointed. The guest house is very convenient for Cork city with a bust stop just around the corner. Carrigaline is a busy little place offering a good variety of shops as well, all within walking distance of the Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roola, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I come from Finland to study in near Carrigaline and this BB house was excellent chose. Wake up morning and go eat fresh and big breakfast and go stuby. Evening come back and if want eat owners wife cook good big home make meal and of course the price was low. After that it was easy to go bed and rest. Place is quiet and that makes sleeping easy. If i need to again near Cork i will 100% sure book room Glenwood House and go see friendly Adrian and he wife! Thanks from Finland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Glenwood House offers the perfect mix of a quiet place and very friendly hosts with whom you can enjoy a friendly chat. The rooms are very clean and offer all amenities one needs on a business trip. Breakfast is very good and daily newspapers are provided. Adrian is always there in case you need something, and gives you the feeling of being at home.
I stayed at Glenwood House for one week and will definitely come back on my next business trip to Carrigaline.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorkSeve, Owner at Glenwood House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We appreciate your effort to write your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again to Glenwood House in the future.

Kind regards,

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This time a business visit with a UK colleague who was most impressed and complimentary. As she is a hardened traveler and hard to please this was high praise indeed. So I was delighted that I booked to stay at the Glenwood, so much better than big, impersonal hotels, huge beds and a great nights sleep.
Free WiFi- that works!!
And then the fresh cooked breakfast, wonderful home made preserves (plum, vanilla and star anise- amazing!!).
After one long day and heading into another this was a relaxing and restful retreat.
Thanks again to Adrian & Noelle.

Room Tip: No need- all excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood House

Address: Ballinrea Road, Carrigaline, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Carrigaline
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carrigaline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.