We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrigaline
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenwood House
Save
You added Glenwood House to your Saves list
Ballinrea Road, Carrigaline, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Carrigaline B&B and Inns
Dublin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This time a business visit with a UK colleague who was most impressed and complimentary. As she is a hardened traveler and hard to please this was high praise indeed. So I was delighted that I booked to stay at the Glenwood, so much better than big, impersonal hotels, huge beds and a great nights sleep.
Free WiFi- that works!!
And then the fresh cooked breakfast, wonderful home made preserves (plum, vanilla and star anise- amazing!!).
After one long day and heading into another this was a relaxing and restful retreat.
Thanks again to Adrian & Noelle.

Room Tip: No need- all excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this guest house in November and were thrilled with our stay! Excellent service, great food, clean and comfortable rooms and situated within walking distance to the local town- what more could you ask for? The owner Adrian could not have been any more helpful and was on standby to offer advice and assistance should we have needed it. What is great about this guest house is that it offers top quality rooms with up-to-date facilities that would be found in a top class hotel whilst, at the same time, providing a tranquil experience that can only be found in this type of guest house. You get the best of both worlds!

Thank you for everything Adrian and family. We hope to be back soon!

P.s. If you stay at this guest house make sure you purchase one of the delicious homemade jams on offer,a must have for the jam lovers out there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I travel in Ireland a lot and stay in hotels and B&Bs. This is one of the best ever I've stayed in. The people are nice, the decor and furniture is fresh & new., the breakfast is lovely with freshly squeezed oj and fresh fruit. They also have plums poached in vanilla & star anise! There is flat screen TVs and free wifi. The price is very good value. The bed was lovely & firm. It's ideal for me as I do a lot of work in Ringaskiddy but it's very close to Cork & on the was to the west. I'll be back. Dave Toner, Dublin 18.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed recently in Glenwood House and we were hugely impressed with this delightful B&B. Excellent service, great room, quiet surroundings and delicious breakfast. Glenwood House provides brilliant value for money and we would not stay anywhere else while staying in the Cork area. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

So convenient to Cork City and Kinsale, this lovely guesthouse is a great home away from home for travellers. Wonderful and welcoming host with helpful local information, great breakfast and very peaceful and restful room with a serene mature garden outside the window. We definitely recommend this place and look forward to going back next time we travel to Ireland. Thank you, Adrian, for everything!.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nothing more can describe the recent stay with Adrian and Noelle.
Great B&B, warm welcome, well appointed rooms with everything you need. Great sleep- as crey18 says this is an added benefit as I would normally not sleep well first night in another bed.
Fresh cooked breakfast- yummy.
So much better overall than big hotels where you are just another number.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Another great stay over with Adrian and Noelle. A warm welcome, as always, lovely room and comfortable bed. Clean and spotless. Slept like a baby, usually never do on the first night away anywhere! Fresh cooked breakfast set us up for the journey home the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood House

Address: Ballinrea Road, Carrigaline, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Carrigaline
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carrigaline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.