We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackbird Bar

The Blackbird Bar
Main Street, Ballycotton, Ireland
(021) 4647 884
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Fast Food, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
County Meath, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Little gem of a pub in the middle of Ballycotton. Been decorated in a very cool, trendy way and a good vibe in the place. Music on both the nights we visited. Alternative food "hut" out the back in ther fab beer garden, servicing gorgeous burgers, fish, chip, etc. No card machine so bring cash as you wont want to leave to go to the ATM.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Watched the France v Ireland Six Nations finale in this brilliant little bar in Ballycotton.
The place was packed and the atmosphere was incredible. It has everything from the small intimate bar at the front, the cosy music room, a food van that serves amazing food and one of the best beer gardens I have ever been to!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“You have to visit this bar.........its just brilliant in every sense of he word...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Old historic bar with history of being a music spot and it still is. Great drinks and coffee. Fab beer garden with open fire which is lit often and a fab outer kitchen serving simple menu but lovely food and should be supported by all. Great music venue either in the bar or at times ticketed affairs in the Music Room. Great staff and just wonderful welcome if your visiting to sit by stoves or open fire in bar or outside with a coffee and the paper or your popping in at night with friends for few bevvies. Well worth a visit..........was there last year and will def be back again and I am spreading the word........go and see it for yourself. Forward thinking and excellent fun manager there .... its just the perfect mix long may it reign.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went there on a Sunday night and the live music was really great, and so was the crowd, a nice mix of locals with some tourists sprinkled in. We did not eat so i cannot speak to the food but it was one of the most enjoyable live music pubs during our 12 days Ireland trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had our wedding in Ballycotton in early July 2013. We had a gathering the day after in the Blackbird. It was a sunny Sunday and the field kitchen was buzzing with music and craic. The Blackbird is a great traditional Irish bar, with lots of charm and character. Mossey, the owner is very friendly and was very helpful to us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackbird Bar also viewed

Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 
Ballycotton, County Cork
 

Been to The Blackbird Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackbird Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.