We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful refuge from the stormy weather!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Herring Gull - CLOSED

The Herring Gull
The Pier, Ballycotton, County Cork., Ballycotton, Ireland
(021) 464-6768
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A wonderful refuge from the stormy weather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the Herring Gull last Saturday night. We had a nice table at the window, although the weather was so bad, it was difficult to fully appreciate the view! Nonetheless, we had an exceptional meal. I chose from the set menu, which was really good value, 20 euro for 2 course, 25 euro for 3 courses. My partner opted for the daily special starter and main course. The presentation was delightful, a visual treat before tasting a morsel! I was genuinely impressed by such a high standard, on all counts, friendliness and welcome of the staff, atmosphere, and not least, the food itself. We had a very good bottle of Australian Shiraz, at a reasonable price. We had been told about the restaurant by Mary Martin, with whom we were staying, in the local Kilmahon House. (A gorgeous period house, providing a superior standard of B&B, nearby) Mary had tried to reserve a table the previous night for us, but there was no free table. We were so glad we got the opportunity to enjoy a meal on one of our 2 nights staying in the area. We would highly recommend the Herring Gull, and hope to return for more of the same in the near future, when we most definitely will be returning to Kilmahon House. A wonderful weekend all round, despite the torrential rain, the warmth of the welcome and the high standards we enjoyed, made our trip so worthwhile. Well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

well worth the journey to this little gem, park on the parking bay on the right prior to downhill or drive down to the fishing wharf and return.

the freshest fish I have EVER had ,changing menu,, its was mouthwatering exquisiteness, the fish .
it will be difficult to top this, except of course ,if you go fishing yourself and catch one..
solo diner,did early lunch Sunday and felt comfortable eating alone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you google this restaurant you will find a review from one of Irelands restaurant critics, Lucinda O'Sullivan, who slatted this establishment. Why?? We could not figure out. Once we stepped inside The Herring Gull we where made very welcome.

Our starter we shared the salmon which was top class and for our mains we both chose the special of the night, Cod, which came with lovely side of potatoes carrots and asparagas. The fish was perfectly cooked and fresh from Ballycotton Pier. For desert we shared the creme brulee.

So had we taken The Irish Independents restaurant critic Lucinda O'Sullivan's advice, we would have missed an outstanding meal, very well presented with excellent service.

And the entree of bread, lovely and fresh

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Fish restaurant in a long while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fresh fish cooked expertly(they do meat as well)-not to be missed-excellent service-a real gem from start to finish. If you were in France you would have Michelin all over it. It is simply that good

Desserts are also brilliant

Stunning!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We eat here while staying locally. The restaurant wasnt very busy so the service was personal and very good. My husband had soup to start which he rated very good. I had mussels. The menu choice had them cooked with chilli. There was no problem changing the sauce to white wine cream and no chilli. The main course we both had was cod with a crab and herb crust. It was fantastic. Very fresh, perfectly cooked not overdione and beautifully presented. There were generous portions of mixed vegetables and lovely fresh floury potatoes. When I commented on the potatoes they asked if I would like more. Because I had more I had to forego dessert. We had drinks afterwards in the adjoining bar and a chat with some sailors who had come in for shelter from a storm. The bar food served was from the restaurant menu and all the hungry sailors were very happy with their food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Herring Gull also viewed

 
Ballycotton, County Cork
Ballycotton, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herring Gull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.