We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok - not luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ION Luxury Adventure Hotel

Save Saved
You added ION Luxury Adventure Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ION Luxury Adventure Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nesjavellir, 801 Selfoss, Thingvellir 801, Iceland (Formerly Icelandair Hotel Hengill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thingvellir
leicester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ok - not luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere so be prepared for a trip or a complete chill out. Small heated outdoor pool which is nice and a sauna. There is only one person and one room doing treatments so not really cut out for a spa hotel as i would know one to be. However, the food is of a michelin star level. When being served the service is good. However, there is not always someone around to get a drink or a snack from and bearing in mind there are no shops or bars or anything . There was also a mixed up with our board basis we were b&b but they insisted it was half board. They then tried to charge me half board we agreed on 50% in the end. The day time menu is very sparse and pricey and finishes at 6pmleaving no choice but to order from the very high standard menu which is very expensive. We did see the very faint northern lights though and it was an enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    74
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
92
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the ION over Christmas and was disappointed that we were locked into a very expensive pre-fixed dinner menu every night. I like choices. There weren't any. The bar is very cool but, the hotel is eerily quiet if not a little creepy in the dark. The geo-thermal hot tub is nice and has a fantastic view. As for the other guests, they were eclectic to say the best. Overall, it was my least favorite place we visited. Over-rated. Not worth the money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights as a base to discover southern Iceland. It is a good location for exploring and trying to catch the northern lights. Don't get put off by the geothermal power station nearby, we liked the sight and it doesn't cause any issues.

The hotel has potential to be fantastic with its modern decor, amazing outdoor hot tub and good food in the restaurant. However, it is let down by small things such as attention to detail in the rooms and service in the restaurant. The staff were very enthusiastic but need more experience, especially around things like charging drinks to rooms. We loved the northern lights bar but it needs to be staffed permanently... you have to ring for service which takes a while. I think they need to make more of the bar.

Don't let this put you off as the location is great, but be pre-warned about the little things...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar and facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a great place to stay location wise and we really loved it - just the price you pay and the service that goes with it does not match. We have travelled quite a lot and usually you get what you pay for.
General disorganisation is the continual theme. Cleaning carts in Hall ways all day till late evening, bags of rubbish and linen also. Dirty linen was transported out through main entrance doors to a waiting vehicle. Pool ( although nice) change rooms untidy and NEVER ANY TOWELS - not even at 8 am when had time to stock over night. No bath robes on our arrival in rooms. The restaurant was totally unorganised. We were asked the same thing by wait staff on several occasions. Not given correct cutlery, long waits, many times forgot what we asked for, then asked if we wanted the bill and we hadn't finished our meal. We wondered if some staff were untrained back packers ??? Which you can't run a luxury hotel with. Dining wasn't a good experience - we played the - 'lets count the mistakes made by the wait staff' at our table which was sadly quite funny. Staff were actually very nice just have not been groomed for their positions.
We went out for the day and came back to our room not having been serviced which in a luxury hotel can't happen.
The room we had was very nice but when the guests above us flushed their toilet we heard it very loudly in our room as the pipes are not sound proofed.
Check out is a nightmare - account is not easy to follow. We were charged for other people's food and not charged some of what we actually had.
We enjoyed our stay as it was close to the things we wanted to do but the price does not match the experience of a usual Luxury Hotel - it misses by a country mile.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was the final 2 nights of our trip to Iceland and we were hoping for a luxury experience. Although there is a lot to like about this hotel, I was quite disappointed. The modern structure is not to everyone's taste but I liked it. The room was nice but quite small. Although it had a coffee machine and kettle, there were some annoying points. Only one side of the bed had a bedside table. The shower had a glass screen separating it from the bedroom, sounds interesting, but when using the bathroom during the night the light shone straight through into the bedroom. The wet room concept didn't work brilliantly and after showers, the floor of the whole bathroom was wet. Nice towels & toiletries. Our room had a nice large window, with a view away from the power station. However just outside the window there were various bits of debris and rubbish (?left by the builders). Some general grounds maintenance might be a good idea. The room brochure said that the pool/spa was only free to residents in deluxe rooms - we weren't sure if we were in a deluxe room (booked as a package through a tour specialist) or not so decided to use it anyway. There were no staff in the pool area anyway. The pool was quite nice and spacious, but not very warm. Later in our stay we were chatting to a member of staff who said this was because of a power cut and that normally it would be warmer. When we were using it several other guests came and went quite quickly because of the temperature of the water and were very disappointed. Maybe a temporary sign explaining the problem would have helped.
Dinner in the restaurant seemed slightly disorganised. We were told to book but this didn't always seem to work. The food was nice but not exceptional. The Northern Lights bar was a nice spot but could quickly get full. There was no permanent staffing of the bar, just the suggestion to ring if you wanted to be served. The staff didn't seem fully engaged, sporadically very helpful (printing off our boarding passes) and at other times quite disinterested. Check out was awkward as we had been charged for virtually the whole evening meal & drinks of another couple on top of our own bill. It took some time to sort this out. The system of signing/charging meals & drinks to rooms needs some attention.
In summary this is a good location (don't let the power station or the roads put you off) and the hotel has great potential. However the whole management approach needs some thought if it is going to live up to the luxury adventure hotel billing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is brand new hotel in Thingvellir National Park so an ideal base to explore the Golden Circle, South Coast etc. We picked up a hire car at Keflavik airport, snow tyres and 4 wheel drive are essential in winter. The direct route is closed currently, so take Route 1 to bypass Reykjavik, and then 36 East, Turn off at 360 then about 12kms to the hotel. You have to watch closely for signs.
The hotel is a delight, especially Monika and the front of desk staff. Always consult them for local weather forecasts and road conditions before travelling. Restaurant is very good with young, friendly professional staff. Menu might need more choice if you stayed longer than 3 nights. Warm comfortable bedrooms (-7C outside when we were there). Hot tub is more like a pool and great fun under the stars, beautifully warm, plus sauna

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for a larger room/suite if staying for more than 2 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay here. The location is very isolated (which is probably the reason you're booking it) Points to note about the drive is that there are roads closed during the winter - so we phoned the hotel as we left the airport to check the best route there.
The rooms are lovely and clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom has a lovely selection of quality products and bathrobes in the wardrobes.
Each room has a coffee maker and kettle. The spa area is small, but the outside hot pool is amazing. We sat out there with a glass of wine. The gym is very, very small with no windows (a bit of an after thought)
Food in the restaurant is very good quality, but a very limited choice (particularly if you are staying for a few nights.
The biggest let down of this hotel was the bar area with the large windows which lacked any atmosphere during the day and evening. The furniture in there looks great, but is very uncomfortable - so you couldn't really go in to relax.
My final tip would be to take some snacks with you, particularly if you have booked any activities as the hotel is very remote and sells bar food like soup and a cheese platter but no snacks. All in all a great hotel in a very quiet location.

Room Tip: Check which roads are closed before you start driving to this hotel and take some snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ION Luxury Adventure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ION Luxury Adventure Hotel

Address: Nesjavellir, 801 Selfoss, Thingvellir 801, Iceland (Formerly Icelandair Hotel Hengill)
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Thingvellir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Thingvellir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — ION Luxury Adventure Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ION hotel is situated on Mount Hengill, 18 km from UNESCO-listed Thingvellir National Park. It's restaurant offers Nordic specialties and a bar with panoramic scenic views.Satellite TV, a seating area and private bathroom are featured in all guest rooms at Ion Luxury Adventure Hotel. Some also overlook Lake Thingvallavatn.Bookable facilities include an on-site spa and sauna. Ion Luxury Adventure guests can also enjoy a communal TV lounge.Reykjavík city centre is within 45 minutes’ drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your ION Luxury Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ION Luxury Adventure Hotel Iceland/Thingvellir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ION Luxury Adventure Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.