We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable with en suite bathroom!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosstun

Save Saved
You added Fosstun to your Saves list
Fosstun
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fosstun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eyravegur 26, Selfoss 800, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Selfoss
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with en suite bathroom!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

After 2 weeks in Iceland in accommodations with shared baths, it was exciting to find a place where private bathrooms are standard! We had a large room with a sitting area with couch, table, TV (that we couldn’t get turned on), 2 twin beds, and a kitchen. Very warm, comfortable, and clean. The mattresses are some sort of memory foam which I found very uncomfortable, but I know many people like those.
The rate was about $130 US/night with an extra fee for breakfast but coffee and tea were provided in the room. (Not bad, considering the high prices for hotels closer to Geyser. Fosstun is an easy drive to Geyser, Gullfoss, and Thingvellir.)
Staff make the beds and clean the room if you’re staying for more than 1 night. WiFi was supposed to be available but I couldn’t connect to it with or without a cable. (I think the problem was with my laptop’s security settings, however, and not with the hotel.)
We really enjoyed our stay here and definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the grassy area in the back of the hotel have no street noise. Parking is close by in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were met by very friendly reception and shown to our room which was good sized (#112 facing on to the road). The apartment was easily big enough for 4. As with many Icelandic rooms, a little on the warm side but maybe that's because they have so much cold weather. Breakfast was put in the fridge for us each evening before we got back and was continental style and very nicely presented and plenty of it too. Staff were very helpful. Location was quiet but close (10 minutes walk) to supermarket and fast food; nearest restaurant was even closer. Good location from which to pop back towards Reykjavik, see Golden Circle or visit the Westman Islands. Definitely worth looking at if in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin,Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed there two nights. Well located near nature atractions. Got a family room, very well equiped with kitchen, and good bads. High speed internet. Staff was very cooperative, helped with laundary and trip advice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

It's a really nice guesthouse! Sadly it is only open from mid june to mid august.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsvinger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

I didn't find this hotel on the hotel list for Selfoss, so I just had to write a review for it.

This hotel is a great bargain. We stayed one night in the beginning of July. We were 5 persons, and only paid 15000 ISK in total. That is cheap for Iceland. There are no breakfast in the hotel, but the rooms have a mini kitchen so you can make your own meals. The rooms were large and clean, and the staff were friendly. I have no problem recommend this to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fosstun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosstun

Address: Eyravegur 26, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosstun 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fosstun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosstun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.