We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryggvaskali Restaurant

Tryggvaskali Restaurant
Austurvegur 1, Selfoss 800, Iceland (Formerly Tryggvaskala Restaurant)
4821390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Selfoss
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
brno
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went to the restaurant by mistake but was greatly surprised. The food was very tasty and the fact that they made vegetarian meal for me was even better.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great start to our Icelandic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The restaurant provides furniture and fittings to give a rural feel that is very comforting; it was very popular even on the Sunday evening on which we visited. The menu was fairly short, but varied, and the service was prompt and friendly. We had the lobster/salted cod combination and the slow-cooked salmon. Both were excellent, combining a variety of different flavours and textures in an unusual and very attractive way. The portions were generous. Overall, an excellent meal in a very welcoming environment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food in good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were getting hungry on the way to Reykjavik and stopped for dinner. Great old house, good atmosphere, good service and some authentic food, using local ingredients. Had an excellent salmon, a marvelous lamb and a super dessert with blueberries. One of the best meals in Iceland for us!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“5 star dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Have visited the restaurant while traveling on Golden Circle in Iceland.
Have been surprised by the interior, atmosphere, service and the taste.
Can recommend as number 1 destination in Iceland.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tryggvaskali redefined the taste of a good Salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our little family went to Tryggvaskali without reservation for dinner and we had to wait a few minutes on their comfy sofa's before getting a table. It was definitely worth the wait. With my little son I went on a "discovery trip" through the restaurant, because we were intrigued by its constellation. Carefully chosen decoration gave every room a special vibe. We had good waiters who took time to chat with us and were very kind to our son. The dishes were definitely the best that we had on our 2 Iceland trips so far. I had Salmon and without exaggeration it was the best salmon that I ever had in my life. Also my wife was extremely happy with her lamb. Looking forward to return to Tryggvaskali on our next trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tryggvaskali Restaurant also viewed

Selfoss, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
Selfoss, South Region
 

Been to Tryggvaskali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryggvaskali Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.