We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Culinary Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geysir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Geysir to your Saves list
Hotel Geysir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haukadal, Selfoss 801, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Culinary Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Here we are out on an adventure trip in Iceland. We'd just dove the Silfra fissure then hiked down a lava tube. now on to see a geyser and lunch. This was our first day of our adventure with Icelandic Mountain guides. I am expecting a cup of soup from a turrine out of the back of the super jeep and a sandwich. Instead we're are treated to a wonderful lunch at this restaurant. The soups were great, the vegetable was reminiscent of mom's that I grew up with. A delicate broth and a wonderful array of winter veg. I went back for seconds on the Tomato soup which had great flavor a balance between the tomato and cream in the soup. The rest of the buffet was delicious, and went down well with a nice bottle of wine. Following the meal our guides gave us a great treat. The chef prepared a little open air snack. We went to the hot springs adjacent to the geyser where we feasted on bread baked in the steam from the geyser water. This was topped by fresh butter, pickled herring and a medium hard boiled egg which was cooked in the geyser water as well. PURE AMBROSIA! All this was finished off with shots of Brenevin (Icelandic Schnapps). This was a special event that was planned ahead by our guides and I have to thank the Chef again for doing this for us.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having read in guide books that the restaurant here was worth a look in preference to the Geysir centre we looked in to find out what was on offer. An amazing carvery was what we found with a large variety of starters, 3 roasts plus fish and vegetarian option for mains, 4 puds and coffee for £15. The cheapest and best meal we had on our trip! Staff were obliging and didn't rush us away despite the fact that we were the last to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleby magna,leics
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Tis was a second visit for my partner and I. Clean basic and warm chalets to stay in with an excellent restaurant and well cooked food on offer. A family run hotel which is being refurbished. The improvements are starting to show. The location is very good on part of the Golden Circle route. A simple hotel well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

having recently stayed at the geysirsir hotel we were extremly disappointed with the stay. We can accept the disruption and inconvenience of both the hotel reception and resturant being closed for refurbishment and having to use the resturent in the visitors center, which provided a very limited and repative menu during our stay. The accomadation was frankley a joke , I fail to completely understand how what is described as a lodge is a hotel room. The accomadation was basically a glorified garden shed, yes it was heated and insulated with barely acceptable beds and seating.
When we first inspected the shower and toilet facilitied we saw a sign saying that it might take TEN minutes (no that is not a mistake) for the hotwater to run., at first we thought that this was a joke but no it really did take that long to start coming through we actually timed it!!! .
the location may be ok if you want something for one nighht and then move on

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a job checking in as hotel was being renovated and sign informing one to book in at adjoining restaurant had blown down.
But once sorted we were pleasantly amazed at warmth of our chalets. Very clean with comfortable beds. Due to a notice in the bathroom we expected we would have to wait for hot water in shower but it came through quite quickly to the excellent shower.
Wonderful position to have a hotel right opposite geysers which are a must see sight when visiting Iceland. Think it might be very busy in summer but going in February we were delighted to be able to visit the geysers with no other visitors.
The food in the restaurant was fantastic, waiters very good making sure we were happy with the freshly cooked food, second night it was actually the owner who was serving. Very good to chat with him. Excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice but simple hotel near the Geysir. The hotel has twenty four double studio rooms in cabins beside the river. Each are outfitted with two single beds/double beds, television, a comfy armchair and bathroom. The hotel has a pool with natural geothermal water. It is approximately 35-40°c and 16.5 m long and an ideal place to enjoy oneself with your family and friends. Beside the pool there are two hot tubs, which are good to relax after a walk around the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were a little bit worried when we arrived as there was a power cut which was expected to last until 6.30pm. We visited the geysirs which are just across the road and were absolutely amazing, especially as there was no one else there. By the time we got back, our cabins were warm and electricity restored. Very lovely staff especially Latvian guy who got us extra towels for the geo-thermal swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Geysir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geysir

Address: Haukadal, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geysir 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The trademark of Iceland, the great Geysir, gave the hotel its name and Geysir is situated right outside the front door of the hotel. Haukadalur is one of Iceland’s most famous historical sites, both ancient and today. The farmer’s son from Haukadalur, Sigurdur Greipsson, founded a sports school in his father's inheritance at Haukadalur, which he operated with his wife Sigrun Bjarnadóttir for a period of forty-three years. Today Hotel Geysir is run by descendant of Sigurdur Greipsson, Már Sigurdsson (youngest son of Sigurdur and Sigrun) and his wife Sigridur Vilhjálmsdóttur along with their children, Mábil Gróa and Sigurdur.The Geysir-Center, which is directly opposite the geothermal area of Geysir and Strokkur, consists of a whole building complex with elegant restaurants, souvenir shop, outdoor and clothing store, snack shop, Geysir museum with multimedia show and camping area. Also there is a golf course, fishing, hiking trails, outdoor paradise the Haukadalur woods, Langjökull glacier tours and other activities such as highland tours. Therefore it is perfect for day trips because of many different possibilities of entertainment. Further details of activities in the region is available at the hotel's website. his landmark of Iceland is a spectacular natural phenomenon beyond description. The geothermal field surrounding the Great Geyser is the definitive geyser, having given its name to the geological phenomena. The Strokkur, another famous geyser located nearby, gives a performance every few minutes, shooting a tower of water and steam 30 meters into the air. There are other attractions apart from the magnificent geysers. For example, Blesi, a hot spring with water the colour of turquoise delights the senses. Walking about this natural wonder, one experiences the intensity of the forces of nature. Night time offers a fascinating view of the bubbling hot springs and the northern lights. A pot of boiling water takes on new dimensions.We place great pride in that all are equally pleased at the arrival and departure and your stay will be pleasant and memorable.Hotel RoomsThe hotel has twenty four double studio rooms in bungalows beside the river and twelve rooms in one wing, just two minutes from the thermal fields.All in all, this has to be the perfect framework for rest, relaxation, and getting charged up for the next activity. Access for disabled people is available both in hotel rooms, restaurants and toilets.The hotel has hot tubs, which are good to relax after a walk around the area. Nothing compares to lying at the hot tubs watching the stars or the northern light and relax in the spectacular nature. Iceland is an island capable of tempting visitors to a host of activities. One should however not forget that vacations are also for taking advantage of time by relaxing body and soul to the utmost. To reach this level of relaxation it is essential that the surroundings be conducive to this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Geysir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geysir Hotel Selfoss

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geysir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.