We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, great horses.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solhestar

Solhestar
Borgargerdi, Selfoss, Iceland
892-3066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Selfoss
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sports
Attraction details
1 review
“Friendly people, great horses.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant afternoon with great people. It was a great way to explore the Icelandic countryside. Thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    11
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horseriding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Really nice people. They offer you an amazing ride at the icelandic countryside. There are clothes, boots and a cap that you can borrow for free. The horses have a good condition. After a 9 km horseride we have got tea/ coffee and a cookie. They even drive us back to our hotel. Amazing service!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A delightful proprietor and a decent ride.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved the story of this place - a man, a bankrupt economy, some horses, some land, and a vision. The horses are pretty wonderful too ;-)

The tourist info center suggested this particular horse ranch to us. It included transportation to and from the city, riding gear, a ride, and "an energizing meal." We got all but the last (well, if coffee and boxed cookies are an energizing meal, I suppose we got that too).

Our ride was casual. I'd been on horses 20-25 times in my life, but not in a decade or so, so the slow ride was good at the start. I wish the horses had gone faster at some point, but it seems they are too well trained - they know when the leader is behind them, not to pass when he's in front of them, etc. It was so slow, the guide was taking bookings as we rode!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly chance to ride these unique horses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My girlfriend had always wanted to ride Icelandic horses so this was an experience that came with high hopes and didn't disappoint. We phoned on the day and was accommodated easily which was nice, even though the weather wasn't the best.

Warm weather equipment was provided and I have never ridden before so was given a good horse with a forgiving temperament. To be honest all the horses seemed pretty used to having novices on there back.

Our guide was amazing too, so friendly and warm, we had a real giggle on our way around. Highly recommended and good value.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for horse riding close to Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had originally agreed on a riding tour Saturday, but as the weather went crazy we agreed on coming back the next day. Sólmundur got the horses ready as we dressed up in clothes and equipment provided by Sólhestar. As we started our tour, the wind increased, but we kept on going, and got a nice ride by the foot of the mountains. By the time we got back, there was a small snow storm coming up, and after fixing the horses, Sólhestar provided a warming cup of coffee/ hot chocolate.

The hole experience was friendly and fantastic! We had a nice tour on steady, nice, horses, and would love to come back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solhestar also viewed

Selfoss, South Region
Selfoss, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
 

Been to Solhestar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solhestar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.