We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great houses, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minniborgir Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Minniborgir Cottages to your Saves list
Minniborgir Cottages
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Minni-Borg Grimsnesi, Selfoss 801, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great people, great houses, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Close to all the golden circle attraction and Kerith crater lake. Quite cozy houses. Very clean inside and beautiful outside. Friendly owners. I would highly recommend this place to anybody: couples, groups of friends, families, and would definitely stay again there myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Minniborgir Cottages of our last night in Iceland. The location was excellent for the golden circle and also to get back to the the airport.

As with pother reviewers the office was closed when we arrived, but the instructions as to what to do were clear. The laundry facilities were also excellent - but are located in the office so you do need to arrange this.

The cottage was clean and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed there with my dad and mom for 3 nights. It took us some time to locate the cottages but once we arrived, we were deeply impressed by the environment and the friendly staff. The cottages were new, clean and well-decorated. My dad loved the outdoor Jacuzzi especially. We even tried barbecue there! The rooms were in family atmosphere so do not expect those fancy hotel room amenities. But it is definitely good enough to have a pleasant stay. The heated floor gave you a warm place without drying the air too much.

It took us less than an hour of driving to go to Geysir and the waterfall. so if you wish to travel along the golden circle, i'd suggest this is the right place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely cottage in a good location, close to the Golden Cicle, for sightseeing and hiking in this area. We stayed for two nights but could have stayed for much longer, had we not been travelling around the whole of Iceland. The cottage was very clean and comfortable with good bathroom facilities. There is a small shop just opposite. When we arrived the office was not open. We phoned a number from theinformation board and were told to just enter our cottage. Everything was ready for us, wecould not have asked for more. An email explaining this would have been helpful but not essential. Upon leaving we were not sure how to pay. After a phone call found that the fee would be taken directly from our account. The accomodation was excellent value for money in agod situation and we would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the 80 sq m cottages. private hot tub was great and warms up really quickly. Thoroughly enjoyable even in the cold weather. Location is excellent. really close to gullfoss and geysir. We hired a car at the airport and used minniborgir as a base to explore the south of the island. Kitchen was fab and saved us a fortune in eating out. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found this cottage on line and book it for one night of our 8 day trip to Iceland. when we arrived the office was locked up and we thought oh no we were out of luck. Upon looking on the wall of the office they had clear instructions on how to contact them.. We were told which cabin we were in and that everything was there that we needed. The cottage was wonderful and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. It was advertised that there was laundry facilities available so we did our laundry the next day and realized we would not have it finished by the time we had to check out and was told that we could check out when it was finished. The playground is great and my grandson really enjoyed it as he was in a hotel for the first 4 nights of our vacation. If you need a great place to stay do not hesitate to stay here. Thanks guys for the great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Minniborgir Cottages are excellent! A lot of space, cosy, a nice place outside and not too close to other cottages. De equipment in the kitchen and livingroom is great, and the hot tub... very nice! If you order breakfast, everything you need is there when you arrive
We can recommend this spot; it was a pity that we could only stay one night, next time we will stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minniborgir Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minniborgir Cottages

Address: Minni-Borg Grimsnesi, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minniborgir Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minniborgir is a cottage area that is located in one of the nature pearls of Iceland. We are located in the Golden Circle and only 40 km from Gullfoss and Geysir. We have 20 cottages all from being 30m2 to 100m2 luxury cottages. We can take up to 110 persons in bed. At Minniborgir we have restaurant that offers local food and it is open all year a round. We offer riding tours and highland tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minniborgir Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minniborgir Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.