We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hekla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hekla to your Saves list
Hotel Hekla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brjansstadir | Skeidum, Selfoss 801, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is clean and well-kept - very nice views in this countryside. An exceptional dinner and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had the opportunity to walk up to a few of the horses that were outside nearby. Lovely. I'm glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: They seemed to be all wonderful , ours faced the road so we could see the horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed 2 night at this hotel.Family worm attitude .Very nice @ clean rooms.High quality of matress.The view to Hekla mountian is perfect.The dining room has nice decoration and also contains excellent place to drink and read.Very good food with a lot of vegtables,fish bread fresh juice.Public toilets are very clean all the time with flowers.Free wi-fi.Very recomended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this new (or renovated), beautifully designed hotel. We received a big and spacious room, which was definitely a nice surprise. We loved the design of the room! The staff was very friendly, Internet connection free and pretty fast, breakfast was very good! However, the hotel has 2 disadvantages:
1. It's very expensive.
2. It's located in the middle of nowhere… 25 km from the nearest town - Selfoss.
Things that are missing in the room:
1. A shower curtain in the bathroom (otherwise water flows all over the bathroom).
2. In-room coffee/tea set.
3. In-room safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is simply - as my 9 year old states - the best hotel she has been in anywhere in the US and the world! We were booked into the hotel by our one-on-one tour guide for two nights and it soon became the benchmark that we measured everything against throughout our 9 day stay in Iceland. The owner Sue and her staff are so amazingly accommodating, friendly, and cheerful and provide the most personal service. We had the privilege to stay in one of their brand new family suites. GORGEOUS room! Master was huge and very, very comfy (I love that bed!). Bathroom was fabulous. Storage for gear and luggage plentiful. Kids had their own bedroom with 2 twin sized beds. No need for an eye shades here. Even with 21 hours of sunshine a day, the drapes and blackout blinds darkened everything. The property is gorgeous with a great view of Mt. Hekla. Icelandic horses out front and flower fields in the back surrounding an awesome hot tub. They will even give you special robes to keep you warm out there. Breakfast and dinner were to die for. The best fresh baked breads. We were spoiled so at dinner with top notch food, service and attention. The next 7 days never brought us another meal close in quality and service. They were very gracious with my picky eater son. They bought nutella just for him for breakfast and made his dinners to order. They even made him his own meal on night #2. Sue and staff… we miss you so!

Room Tip: Ask for one of their brand new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a real gem. The room was great, the Internet was free and very fast but the best part was our dinner. We arrived late and I'm a vegetarian. The waitress told the chef and despite the late hour he made me a special vegetarian meal that was truly gourmet. Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly and helpful - can't recommend this place enough. So far, our best hotel experience in Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks unexciting. But why would you build a palace in a country where earthquakes are frequent. The timber construction of the Hekla would probably stand a tremor or two and be easily repaired if damage were done. But the rooms had all expected facilities and the dining room was large and airy. In particular, the food and the service were outstanding. I wished we had been able to stay more than one night. Sadly our schedule dictated we had to move on. And none of the other hotels we stayed in in Iceland were as good overall.

Room Tip: The management could not have been more helpful. Just ask and they will oblige. Nice people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A proud hotel with great staff. Rooms with panoramic views of the Volcano Hekla in the distance. Great outdoor Jacuzzi with seating for plenty. The property is adding new rooms and renovating to more boutique standards. Should be done by end of 2013. Did not interfere in any way with enjoyment of the guests. A Charming owner and a great meal at dinner. As a Travel Manager I would have no problem recommending this property for Summer Adventure touring or Winter Northern Lights tours.

Room Tip: Hekla facing rooms have panoramic windows and large terraces to view the Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hekla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hekla

Address: Brjansstadir | Skeidum, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hekla 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hekla is a 45 room hotel in South Iceland, only a 45 minute drive from Reykjavik, and a 15 minute drive from Selfoss. The hotel has a good restaurant, lounge with fine bar selection, outdoor hot tub, free high speed Wi-Fi internet and a large garden around the hotel.The hotel is situated close to Mt Hekla and is surrounded by some of the country’s most stunning sights including: Eyjafjallajökull volcano and Fimmvörðuháls; beautiful hiking trails along the Golden Circle destinations; the highlands of Landmannalaugar, Kjölur, and Sprengisandur; historical sites from the Viking era; volcanic craters; a Hydroelectric power plant, and – depending on the season and weather permitting – the spectacular Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hekla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hekla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.