We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grimsborgir to your Saves list
Hotel Grimsborgir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked these apartments as an independent 4 night trip to Iceland in the hope of seeing the Northern Lights. The location is perfect for light viewing, if they appear you can view them from the comfort of your very own hot tub!

We were upgraded by the lovely owner to a large 3 bedroom apartment with its own hot tub, which was more like a villa than an apartment. Beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean. Wonderfully warm underfloor heating kept us snug as the outside temperatures reached -7degrees.

The owners, Olafur & Kristin are wonderful hosts with a wealth of experience in the hotel and hospitality industry, and it shows with their attention to detail. An on site restaurant provides a complimentary breakfast and some delicious evening meals if you don't want to cook your own or venture into Selfoss.

I would really recommend a stay at these apartments, trust me you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guests

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay.
We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful time here with us, and we could make the best of your stay in Iceland. Good to hear you enjoyed beeing upgraded to a more nice apartment.


Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    40
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
74
148
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, the accommodation is very clean and the facilities excellent .The hotel is about an hour and a half from the airport and we would recommend hiring a car as it is situated in the country side with superb views and easy access to the national park the geysers and gulfoss.The food in the restaurant was very good and the breakfast that was included in the price was also excellent On the day we returned our flight time meant that we had to leave before breakfast was served but this was no problem as the owner immediately offered to get breakfast early for us which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guests

Thank you for your review of your stay here in our hotel.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make your stay as nice as possible.

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay with a group of friends or family. The accommodation is first class as is the food & the service. The house we were in (9) was beautifully appointed & had everything we could have wanted, except perhaps for another shower/bath room, as 6 of us sharing wasn't ideal. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful & made us feel more welcome. The highlight though was sitting in the hot tub in sub zero temperatures with a glass of wine & watching the Aurora Borealis putting on the most wonderful display overhead. The definite highlight of our trip to Iceland. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guests

We are glad to hear that your stay was so nice.
Good to hear the hot tub was nice and you enjoyed it and everything else :)

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast fantastic but disappointed in the buffet meal. There was very little meat - the chef cut off a tiny piece of lamb and the last piece of dried up turkey for me. This turned out to be a very expensive meal! This was the most expensive of all the accomadation i stayed in. Nowhere to sit in lounge in evening other than dinimg chair to watch tv. No information on northern lights!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guests

We are verry sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your dinner, i'm sure we could have done something to make it better.

Thank you for your review.

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room was tastefully furnished, comfortable and with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. The bathroom was excellent. This was the nicest nights stay I had when I was in Iceland - the food in the restaurant was fresh, well cooked and excellent. Probably the best food I had in Iceland too!
It is in a good location for exploring the golden circle (I went in December) but some of the roads around that part were icy, saying that, the rental car was fine. I would stay here again, even just for a quiet restful evening after a day of sightseeing and driving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Jenny,
Thank you for your nice review.
We are happy to hear that your stay was so good.
Always good to hear about our food beeing excellent and location is so good.

Wish you all the best.
Greetings
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived on a really cold November night to a cosy, beautifully furnished guest house in the middle of the Golden Circle attractions. Owner Olafur met us and showed us to the guest house which was so clean, well equipped and out of our 6 night stay in Iceland the best 2 nights. Breakfast and Dinner were first rate but more importantly the friendliness and helpfulness of staff and owners made this stay a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Ian,
Thank you for your nice review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
It's great you liked the location of our hotel and you enjoyed the house and food.
Hope to see you again.

Wish you all the best :)
Greetings,
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We two had a good stay at Grimsborgir. Unfortunately only for one night. Would be good to stay a bit more with some friends and use the hot tub (no bubbles) just outside the apartment. Breakfast was very good with the best coffee machine I ever saw in a hotel. Take a Espresso, Macchiato or Café Latte as you like. Restaurant is a bit a little walk or drive from the house, but good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGrimsborgir, Director of Sales at Hotel Grimsborgir, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Daer guests,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Good to hear you had a lovely breakfast and a good coffee.

Wish you all the best:)
Greetings,
Jóhanna Kristín. Reservations and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grimsborgir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.