We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury accommodation in the most beautiul surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grimsborgir to your Saves list
Hotel Grimsborgir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation in the most beautiul surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I highly recommend Grimsborgir to anyone who is planning a trip to Iceland. A lot of people get caught up in the capital and don't venture out into the wilderness unless if it is for a day trip or tour. I was, however, extremely fortunate enough to discover this place and spend a night there with my girlfriend amidst our Golden Circle road trip.

The location is very romantic and ideal for couples wanting to get away and enjoy sometime alone time. Having said that, I can imagine it is also perfect for large families as the houses are of a great size and can accommodate a fair few people.

My girlfriend and I also ate at the restaurant located on site and the food was exquisite - I also highly recommend that you check that out if you have the chance.

Olafur and his wife, the couple who run and own Grimsborgir, were an absolute pleasure as well. They provided a top-quality service and were extremely friendly - couldn't have been better and my thanks goes out to them!

10 out 10 :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    40
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
74
148
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We've recently spent our honeymoon in South Iceland and Grimsbogir was probably one of the best places we stayed at. Located nicely near the main attractions of the area. We stayed there for 2 nights and found that the owner and staff were very helpful and friendly- my husband asked a staff about how to operate the hot tub and she dropped everything she was doing and drove with us to our house right away to demonstrate. Variety of food (hot and cold- loved the croissants) for breakfast- especially in comparisons to only cold dishes offered at most hotels outside of Reykjavik. The rooms were very clean and the kitchen was fully equipped. A bit large for 2 people (with 2 bedrooms) but we still loved it and would return if we visit Iceland again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We only spent one night here on a short trip to Iceland. A really well-appointed apartment and a good place to get away from all the city lights and noise (though perhaps a touch more external lighting than really necessary).

A very relaxed atmosphere and warm welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This trip to Iceland, our first, was a surprise for my partner. I had booked a self-drive tour through Nordic Traveller around the south coast of Iceland. On arrival, we received our 4-wheel drive, a mobile phone, GPS and a pile of maps with an itinerary which included pre-booked accommodation. Over the course of our seven night trip to Iceland, we were to stay in four different places, Grimsborgir Guest House was our destination for the second night. On our first morning, we had had to reschedule our plans due to the extreme weather conditions - the worst weather in 30 years we were told. Storms and heavy snow and ice made driving particularly hazardous. We had driven into Reykjavic to buy tramping boots to even be able to walk, and left Reykjavic for Grimsborgir in the afternoon, planning to stop off at some hot mud baths on the way. We never made it to the mud pools because we kept getting lost - setting the GPS with Icelandic place names rather than coordinates took us off track to start with. The weather was worsening and when we stopped to ask for help with directions were advised to head straight for Grimsborgir. The wind was getting stronger and the snow heavier, it was a difficult drive. In reviewing the accommodation before coming to Iceland, I had assumed that Grimborgir Guest House meant just that. One building with separate bedrooms and common areas. I didn't know there were six separate and self contained houses built on a circular drive. We finally arrived and with some difficulty found 'reception' and my partner met Olafur, who got in his car and asked us to follow him to our guest house. When he opened the door to this beautiful home, we couldn't believe it when he said it was all ours. It was enormous, spacious and stylish, with a fully equipped kitchen and would have comfortably slept eight. We were thrilled, particularly after our arduous and nerve-wracking drive. A beautiful home and beautifully furnished. Then Olafur asked if we would like dinner and gave us directions to the restaurant. We unpacked a bit then drove the short distance to the restaurant (another house) and were greeted by Olafur in a suit, welcoming us into a beautiful dining room open just for us. For the next two nights we were waited on by Olafur, the only ones, with wonderful, wholesome and delicious meals cooked by his wife, Kristin. The next morning we came to the dining room for breakfast and were amazed at the extent of the buffet, which included a cooked breakfast, again, for just the two of us. However, the following night demonstrated that we had met the most exceptional hosts ever, when on our return from a day of sightseeing, relying on a GPS that provided a direct route back (a road that was closed) we got stuck in the snow. We had nothing to use to dig ourselves out, it was about 7pm and we were completely isolated. Fortunately our mobile phone was within range and we rang Olafur, who, with Kristin, drove to us and bought a couple of shovels which we all took turns to use to dig out the snow from under the car. Kristin suggested Olafur get in behind the wheel, and gave him instructions to driving forward and reverse until, at a certain point asked us to push, and the car was freed. It was a huge relief. Then after big hugs and applause, we all drove back and Kristin carried on making dinner for us. We cannot recommend this beautiful place, service or food highly enough. Exceptional from every point of view. Thank you Kristin and Olafur!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had an extended family group of 12. Two cottages provided more than enough room. These guesthouses are spacious, new, and nicely furnished. The full kitchens allowed us to eat in a few of the nights. The restaurant on the premises was excellent. You are really out in the country here, and the views are stunning in all directions. The town of Selfoss is only about 10 minutes away. These cottages served as a great base for exploring the sights of Southern Iceland. If you want to go horse back riding I recommend Solhestar which is close by and provides a great experience

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We booked a two bedroom apartment for 3 nights and were upgraded to a much larger apartment which was fantastic. It was very warm,clean, cosy and had everything we needed -real luxury. Breakfasts were lovely and we had very good food and service in the evening at the restaurant. The owner suggested a tour guide Dooley who was wonderful and who made every effort to make our trip very special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were expecting it Grimborgir to be nice, but were just amazed how great it was. The apartment was enormous and fully equipped. Everything was spotlessly clean and every one of us fell in love with the place. It has a full kitchen so we decided to cook a meal and relax in the apartment. It was clear night so we relaxed in the hot tub (with champagne) but unfortuantely the Northern Lights didn't show. Also great was that there is breakfast is laid on in the main house for you which again is absolutely lovely. It was a shame that we were only there for one night. It would be great to return for longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grimsborgir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.