We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most awesome place and people! Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The most awesome place and people! Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were a group of 14 people from Auckland, New Zealand (3 couples and 8 senior secondary students) on a Geography trip and for all of us our stay at Grimsborgir Guest House was by far the highlight of our 10 nights in Iceland. The students were in awe of their well-appointed accommodation. We were spread out over three houses and nothing was too much trouble. All houses were beautifully furnished and fully equipped so we could prepare our own evening meal to keep costs down for the students. The beds were unbelievably comfortable and breakfast in the morning was as outstanding as our hosts were gracious.

Room Tip: All rooms were of an equally high standard and very quiet, spacious and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    40
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
74
147
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stjordal Municipality, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were staying in Iceland for two weeks this summer. We stayed at hotels all over the country. Grimsborgir Guest House was the most beautiful and most luxurious place of them all! We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, the King-size hot-tub on our private patio, excellent food in the restaurant, and all the sights reached in just a short distance from the Guest House. A big thank you from the Lavik Family to our hosts! We'd absolutely like to stay at Grimsborgir at our next visit to Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Beautifully furnished apartments that are very spacious and with all features you absolutely wouldn't expect in Iceland's outback. Perfect was the private hot tub and the cosy fireplace. Large choice at the breakfast buffet with attention to detail. Who is looking for real comfort and a Mix of American East Cost and Swedish style is just right to stay at Grimsborgir!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

The large apartment is sheer luxury. Well equipped kitchen, lovely sitting room with stunning view, real log fire, large terrace with hot tub - great after a long drive on bumpy roads in a land rover -, floor heating all round, very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast, good restaurant. Very nice, helpful hosts. Not cheap, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

First we were not happy with it. We came from Reykjavik Hilton, and this hotel/guesthouse didn't seem to par for what we expected after Hilton. The TV was broken, Internet didn't work, room was small, the size of the bathroom.
However, everything looked very clean, the bathroom was actually pretty cool, and modern. Staff and general manager were very accomodating and tried hard to fix the problems. Food was excellent: dinner and breakfast. They even had a coffee mashine that made great espresso and cappuccino.
Looking back and experiencing other hotels in Iceland, I'd say this was one of the best hotels we stayed on the countryside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My wife and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary with a self drive tour of the ring road. We only got to stay one night near the end of our travels and by this time had seen about 10 different accommodations around Iceland. This was probably the most luxurious, spacious and relaxing of all those accommodations. Every detail was perfect and well thought out. The cottage itself was spotless and yet had homey decorative personal touches. The hot tub out back was a welcome reprieve after a cold rainy day exploring the Golden Circle. We honestly have NO criticisms of our experience here.

NOTE: the restaurant at the main cottage is outstanding. My wife described the Grimsborgir Grims"burger" as the "best hamburger I've ever tasted" and the salmon I had was one of the best meals I had in Iceland (which is high praise indeed). Don't forget to try the chocolate baked banana dessert. Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our reserved hotel was overbooked and they rebooked us here, so staying at the Grímsborgir Guest House was unexpected. Grímsborgir is near Selfoss, about an hour’s drive from Reykjavik and the surrounding area is a popular place for summer country homes. Grímsborgir is unlike any Icelandic guesthouse that we have stayed at. It consists of several new separate houses arranged around a circular road with reception/dining facilities in another building as you enter from the main road. The whole place looks immaculate with most of the buildings painted white. It seems that the houses may be privately owned and are let out as holiday apartments (you can hardly call them rooms!). Clearly, there is a lot of room for expansion. In front of each house is ample parking. Each house contains a larger four bedroom apartment that can sleep up to seven and a smaller apartment which sleeps four. Outside on the patio is a hot tub and barbeque. We had a smaller apartment which, in addition to the two bedrooms, beautifully decorated in light colors, and bathroom, had a large living area with fully equipped kitchen/dining/sitting area. Sky TV was available on the large flat screen TV. The whole place was very clean and the bed (we only used one room as there were just two of us), was very comfortable. Since the number of rooms is so small and it did not look as if occupancy was high, we did not expect much at breakfast but the buffet was well above average. There was much more fruit than on a typical Iceland breakfast buffet and a coffee machine that offered latte, espresso etc. in addition to the usual drip coffee. Grímsborgir Luxury Guest House would be a wonderful place for a family reunion, relaxing weekend or as a base to explore the Golden Circle. It’s close enough to Reykjavik for easy access to the airport, yet feels quite remote. We only stayed one night but could have stayed much longer. They charge per person but it is really great value. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments

Address: Asborgir 30, Selfoss 801, Iceland (Formerly Grimsborgir Guest House)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments and Restaurant is situated in South Iceland, directly at the Golden Circle tourist route. Our accommodation types are hotel rooms, studio apartments and deluxe apartments. Hotel Grimsborgir is surrounded by beautiful Icelandic landscape with mountains and the biggest fresh water river of Iceland, the river Sog. Grimsborgir Restaurant is serving gourmet food as well as traditional Icelandic dishes, for example fresh Lamb Loin, local Salmon and Lobster and the famous Icelandic Meat Soup. Also, we serve coffee and cake as well as lunch - every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grimsborgir Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.