We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campsite with hottubs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gesthus Selfoss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gesthus Selfoss to your Saves list
Gesthus Selfoss
Engjavegur 56, Selfoss 800, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good campsite with hottubs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for one night in a cabin. Nothing fancy and a bit worn down, but it was cheap. Value for money. Good wifi connection. Nice hottubs - good place to relax after sightseeing all day.

There are blinds in some windows in the cabins, but not in doors = lot of light in the cabin at night.

Restaurants are withing walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Loved this little place. Cabin was warm & cosy & staff were friendly & helpful. Although we did not have breakfast we saw the kitchen & dining room on arrival & like our cabin it was spotless. The only improvement we could think of was that a sachet or 2 of coffee/tea would have been nice. We would certainly recommend this place & would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a cosy cabin which comes with a private bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. We managed to prepare our own dinner for the night and breakfast the next day. The cabin is well managed and clean. It was a comfortable stay for us.

The owners were friendly. We arrived outside the check-in hours but earlier than our expected arrival time communicated to the management, hence the owner was out. We were still being attended to in a short time.

When asked for directions to certain point of interests, we were instantly given a free map of the southern part of Iceland and clear directions and histories of point of interest. The owner also made a call for us when we asked on how to settle a traffic summon received the day earlier.

All in all, a value for money stay and helpful owners. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nice cosy cottage in the middle of the town. There is a little kitchen in the cottage with a fridge. Everything is nearby. There are two hottubs for you to enjoy. The caretaker was very friendly and helpfull. He had nice suggestions where to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Small but nice Cabins in a campsite. The cabins are small but for a night or two of sleep have all thats needed. There are 2 common Hot Tubs, which were ready when we arrived. The owner was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Probably the best value for money stay in Iceland. We paid 8k ISK and feel that we got quite a lot as part of the deal. The hotel is easy to find even though it is off the main road (actually a good thing). It is close to many supermarkets and shops so good place to stop and restock. We had a cabin which was surprisingly spacious, well decorated and had a new, clean feel to it. No problems with heating or showers but the hot water had a sulphur smell (this is normal in Iceland). Breakfast is not part of the deal but an extra. You can have it for convenience for under 2k ISK but there are shops around the corner for the budget conscious. There was an option to make use of the hot tub. The hot tub looked clean but we passed as it was getting a little late and we just wanted to rest. The owner seemed like a decent enough chap. We enjoyed a good, relaxing stay and if in Iceland again would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at Guesthus Selfoss. Check in was a breeze, and the owner recommended some local restaurants. We were the only people staying that night but he still set out breakfast for us. Our cabin was warm when we arrived, which was a huge relief coming in from the freezing Iceland air. While the decor is a bit sparse and dated, the cabins had everything we needed and proved to be more than adequate. We were warm and comfortable all night. Only negatives would be the lighting (1 bulb overhead, 1 tiny lamp over the bed) and that the shower floor filled quite a bit. Otherwise, it's a great value for your money!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gesthus Selfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gesthus Selfoss

Address: Engjavegur 56, Selfoss 800, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gesthus Selfoss offers warm and cozy accommodation to people visiting South Iceland. We are located in the heart of the town Selfoss.We are called "The Star of the south" because of our location between all the interesting attractions in South Iceland.Gesthus consists of 22 nice little bungalows nestled between the trees (we call it the forest). Each house can accommodate from 1 to 4 guests.Every house has its private bathroom with WC and shower, cooking facilities and refrigerator. Our guests have access to two hot tubs heated with geothermal water, which are open during the summer time.In summer time our breakfast buffet is open from 8:00-10:00 hrs in our service center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gesthus Selfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gesthus Selfoss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.