We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October & November visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gullfoss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gullfoss to your Saves list
Hotel Gullfoss
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Road 35, Brattholt | Blaskogabyggd, Selfoss 801 , Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Selfoss B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“October & November visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I am always very happy to stay here, the friendly welcome, the comfortable rooms and excellent location make it one of the best spots in Iceland to see the Northern Lights.

The Hotel is a wonderful place family owned and run by wonderful people.

Thanks again to all at the Hotel, see you again soon

Room Tip: 2 nice hot tubs out the back for relaxing and watching the lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bialogard, Poland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having planned to stay in another location a desicion was made to stop at this hotel and enjoy the amenities and quiet atmosphere. The rooms are clean, tidy and well maintained with a great view of the surrounding area. In the middle of nowhere made our stay so much better as it meant using the facilities within. The hot tubs were a perfect end of day experience with the staff happy to accomodate our crazy needs. Breakfast is a self help buffet with plenty of coffe, tea and fresh juices availiable.

Room Tip: Use the hot tubs and enjoy the wintery nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I had a nice time at Gulfoss Hotel. The room was comfortable, breakfast was good, they sometimes offer a buffet dinner of local foods that was enjoyable. Otherwise plan on dinner before you get there. It is a remote location from other amenities but the very close to a couple scenic attractions and ideal for viewing the Northern Lights if you are so fortunate. No light pollution to get in the way. Would come back for that reason.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you want to spend the night up here Hotel Gulfoss and Geysir are about the only options. We were driving over the Klujur (F35) road the next day, so stopped here after a day of golden circle touring. The carpet is worn and the room is about like a Days Inn or Motel 6, but considering that you are in the middle of nowhere, I have no complaints. BF was good, Hotpot is a plastic model. The falls after buses go away toward sunset are fabulous.This was possibly the least memorable and basic commercialized of our hotel experiences (i opt for b+b or more boutique when possible), but hotel was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located for Gulfoss waterfalls and the staff are very courteous and pleasant. However, the hotel is very tired and desperately needs a re-furb. Our room was clean but very basic. The carpet was worn out, there were stains on the furniture and the bedding was minimalist. Breakfast was included but again it was very near the bottom of the pile.
It's better than sleeping in the car but if we did this trip again we would stay in one of the hotels in Selfoss.
It's worth remembering that if you are driving the Kjolur Highway, which begins just after the Gulfoss waterfall, you need a full tank of fuel in Reykholt which is 26km before Brattholt, the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a nice quiet room at the end of one of the wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is not very attractive to look at but it's set in a wild isolated location close and within walking distance to the wondrous Gullfoss Falls. Rooms are quiet and reasonable well appointed. Evening meals are unspectacular with the usual Icelandic fare of arctic char and lamb although there was also a very bland chicken option. Breakfasts are better with plenty of choice including the ubiquitous waffles, yogurt and jam. All the staff are charming and helpful. We enjoyed our night’s stay, it was peaceful and relaxing although the late night dip in the hot tub was cut short when we discovered what at first appeared to be pieces of seaweed floating around, further examination revealed these floating islands to be human hair. The tubs smelt stale and I was left wondering when that water was last changed?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It is a good location for the geysers and the waterfall Gullfoss.
The bed and shower were fine. The TV only showed one channel, not that we were too fussed.
The breakfast was okay, nice to have fresh fruit.
We didn't use the restaurant. The problem was that they only serve dinner for a very short period of time (around 7 til 8 or half past) and this is exactly the time when the sun sets and you get the best light. If the restaurant has been serving earlier, say from 6pm, we could have eaten before we went out. Although I would like to stress that this was a common problem that we encountered in other places.

Overall, good for a stopover. 3.5/5

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gullfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gullfoss

Address: Road 35, Brattholt | Blaskogabyggd, Selfoss 801 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gullfoss 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gullfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gullfoss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.