We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Circle Apartments

Save Saved
You added Golden Circle Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Circle Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Laugarbraut 1, 3, 5, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
TLV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Best apartment I ordered in Iceland.
The apartment is divided into rooms and well-organized. Fully equipped kitchen and has a dining room table which is very comfortable to sit to eat or plan the next day (it was not in all apartments). The apartment is very close to the lake, so we did a night walk and then we ran into a very nice restaurant called Lindin.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a one bedroom flat and was a great stop over location for us after seeing the Great Geysir and Thingvellir National Park. (The next day we saw Gullfoss Waterfall and drove up route 35 to the north).

Positives:
- Very large lounge/kitchen
- Very clean
- Only about a minute walk from the Fontana Spa which was very nice to relax in for the evening
- Right next to the lake
- Good internet connection

Negatives:
- Spent a while trying to work out where the reception was on arrival and had to call them to find out that there is no reception, you just need to call them up for a code and your flat number. You will have a little box by your flat that will release the key when you type the code in. Would have been good to know all of this before we went. Managed to help another couple who were also confused so it wasn't just us! This also meant that we couldn't ask anyone where to go for dinner, etc
- Shower had no shower tray which is always annoying as the water tends to spill out. Also the shower curtain kept getting stuck to me as I moved in the shower which wasn't very nice!

I would stay here again if I went back to Iceland and was in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here because of the very reasonable rate we found on Booking.com, and for what we paid for, we were expecting something not so nice. When we arrived there however we found a nice, spacious one bedroom apartment, rather than a studio we booked for, all to ourselves. We were very happy we decided not to stay at a guesthouse which would have cost more and which would come with shared facilities. Both the bedroom and the open kitchen-dining-living area were very big. The kitchen was well equipped and we cooked marinated lamb we got from the supermarket in town for our dinner. It was very nice and tender and we were happy to be able to try Icelandic lamb (I'm assuming it was Icelandic). There is a WiFi station in the apartment so the signal was very good. The view from our apartment on the ground floor was not so nice but not bad. There is a laundry facility guests can use, which was good ( but it is also used to wash guests' linen and towels and it was often in use.) You can get programs in English on TV if you need to watch TV. Overall, it turned out to be a good option and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were touring the Golden Circle and wanted a reasonably priced place for an overnight stay. The location is excellent, between Pingvellir and Geysir so it offers a natural breaking point if you want to spend time in the area. It is like walking into a new, clean condo that no one has lived in. The computerized key method which obviates staff is cool, if a little Matrix-spookey. There is a small general store nearby and the apartments overlook the lake. Strongly recommend that you stop here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

They may not be the prettiest to look at but this is a great value for money option. You are sent a code in advance by e-mail which gives you access to the apartment's key in a little lock box outside the front door.

The apartment gives you lots of space with nice views down to the lake. The kitchen is well equipped and as in the rest of Iceland there is free Internet wireless!

There is a supermarket back up on the main road where you can get provisions to cook your own food which we did for 2 nights.

Excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very functional and confortable appartment. Very spacious; big open space for kitchen, dinning area and living room. Separated big room. Appartment number 102. Views to Laugarvaten lake, just 300m from the appartment. The kitchen was fully equiped, so we could very easily cook. Just near the appartments the is a thermal spa (Fontana) in the lakeshore. Too expensive for what it is though.
I strongly recommend these appartments. Ideal to visit Geysir and Gullfoss.

Room Tip: From second floor (appartments starting with 2xx) there is a much better view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Golden Circle apartments are very nice, new, clean and well decorated. They provide linen and towels. The location is fabulous, just few minutes walking from the lake and from the amazing Fontana Spa which should not be missed. From the apartment you can enjoy a very nice view of the lake and they are very good value for money (considering prices in Iceland). A supermarket is located very nearby.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Circle Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Circle Apartments

Address: Laugarbraut 1, 3, 5, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Laugarvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Circle Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern apartments with beautiful lake and mountain views. Apartments located in Laugarvatn on route to Gulfoss and Geysir, 16 km from Thingvellir National Park. Each apartment has a private bathroom with shower, well-equipped kitchen, free Wi-Fi, satellite TV. Along with personal balcony or terrace, free parking and children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Golden Circle Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Circle Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.