We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn to your Saves list
Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laugarvatn 840, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Heilbronn
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the EDDA ML during our self-organizes round trip through Iceland. For Iceland this Hotel was a very good value. Of course, there is not much around in Laugarvartn, but hey it's Iceland... Rooms were pretty big with new furniture and clean. Bathrooms are shared facilities in each floor. Breakfast was fine as well.

Some sightseeing spots like Thingvellir National Park, Geysir and Gulfoss are just 20 to 30 minutes by car.

The only bad point: Do not expect double beds, you will find two individual beds at both sides of the room with roughly 4 Meters in between.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
italy
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is part of the well known Edda Hotel chain who everyone has been in Iceland knows as the one that use the schools closed in summer period as accomodations for tourist.
Laugarvatn is 15 minutes car ride from the famous attractions of Geysir and Gulfoss. Is a very small town and the hotel is located in the middle of very nice meadows in a peaceful area.
There is a main building with reception and restaurant and two others with the rooms.
Our room was a double adapted as a triple with a mattress on the ground, not the best but an option that you can accept with a child.
Rooms and common spaces are extremely clean, staff smiling and kind. We had just a small argument with a room maid because we found that she had put the sheets for the third "bed" on the hallway ground. We exposed our disappointment and she immediately excused. When we came back to the room after dinner we have found a nice slip of paper with other excuses. It was a small accident well solved.
We had also dinner there. There was a good choice of meals and I have to say that the quality was quite good. Some lacks in the fish (too much bechamel) and in lasagna (too dry) but the soup and the lamb were really excellent.
A very good surprise at breakfast: a huge choice of biscuits, marmalades, breads, yoghurt and cold dishes that you may als not expect in a simple hotel like that.
Of course the 4 points evaluation must be compared with the limited hotel offer in Iceland, but is an accomodation that I can absolutely suggest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great value stay! Sharing the bathrooms was fine especially when there was a sink in the room. Clean and comfortable - would definitly recommend. Very sorry there wasnt any availability in the rest of these hotels durign my trip around the country!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Edda Laugarvatn, is a fine place to stay. The rooms in building two are very spacious. Plenty of room. A pity that the two beds a so much apart. Couldn't replace them easily. The breakfast was excellent. superb.There isn''t a swimming pool or fitness accommodation. There is a very good thermal bath/pool

Room Tip: ask for building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in 8 places while in Iceland. Was worried about the dorm situation- have to admit liked this set up a lot- more room, much better access to Bathrooms and the breakfast room was huge and did not get crowded like the guest houses we stayed at. There was no tea service- missed that for hot chocolate for the kids but they had lots of room to spread out and didn't bother anyone. It was noisy- currently some construction work AT NIGHT- hard to believe but yes pounding at night- hopefully this was very temporary! Not much in this village- was truly just a place to stay and then move on

Room Tip: ask about night construction work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in the US
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had 5 nights here booked through Booking.com ...it wasn't cheap and we paid extra for breakfast. The dorm room was a good size and clean. The towels and sheets were changed after 3 days. There was no kettle not even one in the student's common area,nor a fridge...fortunately we bought one the day before we came here. Breakfasts on the other hand were awful....not only in terms of hygiene....there were messages displayed and on individual mats not to take away food or you would be charged .. They quartered apples to stop you taking them away and so as a result they were black as we're the bananas. There were no tongs for the bread and there were various jams and spreads with one spoon each.....one hoped that they hadn't been touched or licked. There were communal bowls of yoghurt whereas outside at reception they SOLD individual pots. The coffee from an urn was dreadful and the cups small. Dinner was at rip off prices so we went out. Icelandic Meat soup was £10 as a starter or £18 a main course. Outside you could get this for £7.50 sometimes with a free refill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My expectations were set properly from the very beginning – I knew that it is a college campus converted to a summer hotel. Room was ascetic, furniture old, but all was clean, bed – comfortable and Wi-Fi – free.
I booked the room well in advance directly on the Edda Hotels website and got 20% discount, so I even dare to say that the price was OK (which is out of the common for Icelandic high season).
Also I would like to outline very helpful stuff – they helped us a lot by finding a place of our wet diving gear in the hotel laundry, so that it got perfectly dry within one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn

Address: Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Laugarvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edda - ML Laugarvatn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.