We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths

Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths
Hverabraut 1, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
+354 486 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Laugarvatn Fontana is composed of a series of interconnected baths and steam rooms that complement each other to create a healthy, natural and unique spa experience.Three steam rooms, collectively called GUFAN, have been built over a natural hot spring that has been used since 1929. The temperature of the steam varies depending on the temperature of the hot spring and weather, usually between 40°C (104°F) and 50°C (122°F). Humidity is very high in the steam room cabins. Grids in the floor of the steam rooms allow guests to hear and smell the boiling natural hot spring underneath, creating a natural and totally unique experience.Next to the steam room is YLUR, a Finnish-style sauna. The temperature is between 80°C (176°F) and 90°C (194°F), with a lower humidity than the steam room having a big window facing the lake of Laugarvatn. LAUGA, SÆLA, and VISKA are interconnected outdoor mineral baths that vary in depth, size and temperature. Some areas are suitable for relaxation and others offer space for movement and playfull moments. Stone artwork made by Icelandic artist, Erla Thórarinsdóttir, enhance each visitor’s experience. VISKA, the hot tub, is built at a slightly higher level than the other baths, providing a panoramic view of the beautiful surroundings while the healthy water nourishes both body and soul.Completing the ensemble are VATNIÐ and STRÖNDIN — the lake and the beach. Visitors will reach VATNIÐ through a gate. STRÖNDIN has warm black sand, which has been shown to be beneficial for those suffering from arthritis and other joint illnesses. VATNIÐ provides an opportunity to cool down between visits to GUFAN and YLUR, a temperature shift that is both healthy and strengthening
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

great time after lunch at Linden. Super saunas, hot tub and pools. (The lady from the UK complaining about the flies below, just had bad luck..how are they supposed to control a swarm of flies...nuke them??)....the place was clean, staff friendly and no flies to be seen. Black flies are a blight of the northern hemisphere...try going to the state of Maine in June...nasty.

Anyway a nice stop to relax a bit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laugarvatn, Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Fredruth

Thanks for taking a time and write us a comment. We always appreciate comments on our services. It is true we have great neighbors at Laugarvatn, one of them being Lindin restaurant. I hope you had the possibility to enjoy our food and beverage services which we so proudly promote and have local suppliers feeding us fresh ingredients where available.

We count on your second visit.
Staff at Laugarvatn Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    91
    28
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury and nature intertwined- Fontana spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went there on a lovely summer day and had an extremely enjoyable time. Fontana spa gives you a chance to relax in a natural surroundings but without giving up luxury. The view of the lake combined with steaming hot tubs and sauna is a perfect combination for a beautiful day. The service is good and you can get a royal treatment if you like. Recommend it for everybody visiting south Iceland.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laugarvatn, Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Silja J

Thanks for taking the time to write a comment about our services. We appreciate it.
We are happy that you had an enjoyable time and we would be happy to welcome you again.

It is true that our spot is surrounded with nature and you feel pampered while enjoying the view of the nature. The boiling spring under your feet while visiting our steam baths truly plays with the local elements.

We hope to see you again,
Staff at Laugarvatn Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall, UK
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visited as part of a tour from a cruise ship. The changing rooms were interesting - you could certainly see who the tourists were!! The spa itself was lovely. A few little pools with varying degrees of heat. We found the hottest pool and relocated quickly! Getting out was quite cold even though it was August. It was a long walk back to the changing rooms and certainly not a walk I would lie to do in the middle of winter! The free water in the cafe was great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laugarvatn, Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear harveyswalsall_UK

We are pleased to get a review from such a big contributor to the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for taking the time to write it to us and others to see.

The cruise passengers are one of our guests who enjoy their visit the most, it seem to be the perfect stretch break, not only when exploring the highlights of our bountiful nature but also ideal to take in the nature while off ship.

Ship oh hoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“Perfect relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This resort is not so popular as Blue Lagoon and it's a great advantage! It's not overcrowded, the facilities are new and clean. It is situated new the wonderful lake - after having a great relax in hotpots or in sauna you can have a chilli dive into the lake.
Nice cafeteria with good variety of food. The staff is very attentive and helpful - my mother forgot her swimming suit there - they saved it for us:)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laugarvatn, Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear nikitulina

Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the visit to the geothermal baths. It is true that we are not overcrowded but we sure are popular destination. The design of the facilities makes it easy for us to accommodate everyone without feeling like in a swarm of other guests.

Stay well, travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic for relaxing or having a quality time with your family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fontana is a great place to relax in the great saunas, the hot tubs and the little pools. Great place to take your family for quality time, my kids loved this place:) The cold lake is refreshing from the heat and excellent for people who love a little excitement!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laugarvatn, Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear annamargretolfasdottir

Thanks for your feedback on our services.
We sure like to get visits from families, so we hope that you will be visiting us again soon? We just installed a new tub since your last visit which we are sure that your kids would enjoy.

Relax, have fun, educate your kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths also viewed

Blaskogabyggd, South Region
 

Been to Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.