We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Galleri to your Saves list
Galleri
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Haholti 1, Laugarvatn, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Laugarvatn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our seven night tour of Iceland. This was the best place we stayed on our trip. The room was beautifully decorated and had a massive bed which was super comfy. We were expecting a shared bathroom as that's the type of accommodation we'd booked, but this was a lot nicer than many places we stayed - it was a proper family bathroom, again beautifully decorated like the bedroom. The owners of the b&b made us an amazing breakfast the next day too which included waffles and really nice coffee. I'd definitely recommend staying here. Make sure you visit the gift shop too - it had some lovely things in it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our tour of Iceland. We had the place to ourselves. The double room was huge and beautifully appointed, the view of the snow capped mountains from the patio doors were awesome. I was initially worried about sharing a bathroom but needn't have been. The bathroom itself was gorgeous with a big bath and shower. My only complaint would be no plug to be found for the very tempting bath!

The owners of the galleri were very welcoming. Breakfast was in the shop itself and the spread was very generous considering there was just the two if us there. I'd also recommend the shop. We got some beautiful handmade unique gifts from there.

I'd happily go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in the Fall of 2012. Laugarvatn is a great little town to spend a day or two in while touring this part of Iceland. Galleri is an excellent choice if you are looking for nice, simple accommodations.

The bed and breakfast is kept up nicely, and our room was a very comfortable and cozy. Guests share a bathroom, which was never really a problem for us even though there was a family of three staying in the other guest room. The breakfast the next morning was really good, featuring some baked pastries and good coffee. We had no complaints about the lodgings or the food.

The couple who owns the B&B was very helpful in terms of recommendations for activities and meals. They suggested we have dinner at a restaurant by the lake a couple blocks away. The food was excellent and unique. We also spent part of the day at the thermal baths in Laugarvatn which are a short walk from the B&B. This facility was very nice and definitely worth a visit if you are weary from hiking or just need to relax. The town is really small, but there were some nice walks in the countryside nearby. The highlight of the stay was seeing the Northern lights during a late-night walk through town.

We would definitely recommend Laugarvatn and Galleri to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are finishing up our 12 day drive around Iceland and have stayed at many Guesthouses, but this by far is my favorite. We did a self tour and I'm glad we booked 2 nights here.

1. It's beautiful, charming, and the owner has great design/artistry...which shows in her decor. Every corner I turn I am like "wow" and I don't want to touch anything because it's so nice
2. Eating area is open to natural light and it's a great start to the day. They make waffles too! (which you won't see at other guesthouses)
3. Close to the Geyser/Gullsfoss/National Park
4. Super Clean
5. They are nice and you won't regret staying here. I would save it towards the end of the trip so that you'll have good memories of Iceland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishpon, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Galleri guesthouse in late April, when we were the only guests there. The Guesthouse is conveniently located almost on the main road in the little town of Laugarvatn, almost in the middle of the Golden Circle, thus it may serve for a nice base for touring the area. This relatively small guesthouse is very beautifully decorated, with every room with its own style. The rooms are very spacious, clean and very comfortable, and the shared bathroom is impeccably clean. The dining room is charming and has the right atmosphere for the breakfast. Rates, especially in pre-season, are moderate. Tips (A) Ask for the rooms in the back, although the rooms in the front near the main road are very quiet. (B) Don't miss Lindin, a very good restaurant, with 5 min. walk down the main road and near the local swimming pool, for a good meal and their famous chocolate mousse. (C)When in season book well in advance for its quality and proximity to the most frequently visited sites nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great Golden Circle location accessible to geysir. In a small town that has a gas station and one very nice restautant (Lindin). Simple German / Continental breakfast. Beautiful and comfortable rooms. An incredible bathroom, but it can be shared by up to 3 rooms (6 people).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seevetal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in Laugarvatn exploring the golden circle for one night. The ownners were just perfect and the breakfast was great. The room was very spacious and lovely, the shared bath room was a bit difficult to share, due to many visitors who all wanted to be ready to start at the same time in the morning. But it was alright. The town of laugervatn is not very interesting so we decided to drive to geysir at sunset, which was very beautiful. Thanks for our good stay to the owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleri

Address: Haholti 1, Laugarvatn, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Laugarvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Laugarvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleri Laugarvatn is a different kind of guesthouse. Located in a small town in southern Iceland, the closeness to nature can be sensed immediately. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Galleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.