We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfalls, Glaciers, Scenic Beauty along the Ring Road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skaftafell National Park

Skaftafell National Park
Southern Iceland, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 785, Iceland
+354 470 8300
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
chicagoland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Waterfalls, Glaciers, Scenic Beauty along the Ring Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stopped along the Ring Road to see the many beautiful waterfalls, glaciers, and volcanic lava fields in this park and Vatnajokull Glacier. Stop and see Jokulsarlon Lagoon along the Ring Road. You will see blue ice burgs floating out to sea under a large modern bridge and those washed up along the shore. Cold but beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for hiking and scenic overlooks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stop by the visitor center to pick up a map and learn about the history of the area. Views of the glacier and valley below are incredible, and the variety of terrain and scenery makes a hike very rewarding.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went there mid of August. I was a bit afraid of weather but it was realy amazing! Hiking in shorts and t-shirt. The landscape changes almost every step. You cross green paths with a view over the glaciers. It is so quiet and beautiful. The road to the park is great too. Long and straight, volcano dust on the right, green mountains on the left.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“great hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Did some lovely hiking to view the gacier and the Svarifoss waterfall, although the highlight for me was the view of the majestic mountains up ahead! Would have loved to have continued up to the higher elevations but i did not have water with me and it was quite hot that day. Definitely recommend making a day of it and hike beyond the beaten path. Wish so much I could have continued on! It was also interesting to learn how they are measuring the glacier and that it is currently shrinking. The park in general was not very crowded at all which was nice. Great views all around.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A must do in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is an amazing location with many easily accessible glaciers, a great waterfall in Svartifoss, and useful amenities in key places. I stayed here for about 2 days and one thing I would do if I came again is spend more time here. There are about 10 glacial tongues that are a short drive apart.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skaftafell National Park also viewed

Skaftafell National Park, East Region
 
Skogar, South Region
 

Been to Skaftafell National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skaftafell National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Skaftafell National Park to your Saves list