We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Frumskogar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Frumskogar to your Saves list
Guesthouse Frumskogar
Frumskogar 3, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hveragerdi B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

i stayed at the frumskogar guesthouse for one nnight during my weeklong tril to iceland. i had rented a car and had done the golden circle with plans to continue to south iceland, so i didn't want to go all the way back to reykjavik. gotta say, i was a little annoyed with myself for booking a place in hveragerdi because i had to backtrack on the ring road a bit to go here. however, i am really glad that i came here after all!

hveragerdi is a tiny little town and there are more expensive places to stay. this guesthouse is on a side street but it takes just a few minutes to walk to the main road. it is easy to find, very quiet and nice. i had booked a single room and it was fairly spacious with a sink. the shared bathrooms (2 of them, 1 with toilet only, the other with toilet and shower) weren't ever full. the shower is amazing, super hot water (if you want) and great water pressure. the room was really comfortable and had a tv that i didn't use.

breakfast is not included but is well worth the extra 1000ikr. coffee, juice, granola, yogurt, fruit, meats, smoked salmon, tomatoes, etc. right above the food table is a fantastic display of photos describing how the guesthouse came to exist - this house has been in the family since 1954 and has been operating as a guesthouse since 1983. one of the original owner's sons came back to renovate it and runs it now. great story!

so, if hveragerdi is anywhere close to your route, definitely consider staying here. it is really comfortable, the breakfast is great, and it is extremely good value -- i would have definitely been happy to pay more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech rep.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

It was great choice to accommodate here in Frumskogar... Staff was very friendly. Rooms were not small, were totally clean and on good level of equipment. Recommended restaurant Kjöt og Kúnst for a dinner (300m near) was excellent. The trip to the hill to have a bath in small hot river was unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ain, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in appartment A (myself, husband and 2 yr old daughter) and my parents stayed in appartment B in mid-Aug 2009.
Both appartments were fantastic, spacious for 2 people but would accomodate 4. All pots and pans available in kitchen which we used for breakfast (possible to have breakfast in guesthouse for 1000ISK).
There is a hot tub for guests to use.
Hvergaerdi is a very interesting geothermal village and we will go back again. In town there are a few restaurants and supermarkets.The coast at Erybakki is lovely and the lobster restaurant at Stokksyeri a must - fantastic lobster.
I recommend these appartments highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo. Ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Stayed here two nights in apartment A. It was the perfect place to return to after long adventurous day trips. Quiet, wonderful hot tub, nice breakfast, roomy and modern room. We wanted a small town stay and this was perfect, as well as Hveragerdi is a very interesting little geothermal town. Ten or so miles to the SE in the coast town of Stokkseyri is an incredible lobster restaurant called Fjorubordid. Don't miss it. Also, the rooms at the guesthouse come with a superb detailed notebook of suggested daytrips and maps. We used it exclusively instead of all of my own tour stuff that I lugged along with me. Your vacation is all planned for you so just go to the Frumskogar guesthouse and enjoy Iceland.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed in a private apartment. It was clean and of reasonable size. We didn't use the kitchen but it was nice to know we had the option. The lady who runs the place is really nice and we enjoyed our stay here. It was also nice to spend a little time in the tiny town this guesthouse is located in.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We found Guesthouse Frumskogar through an online blog, and made the booking directly. We decided that we wanted to be closer to nature, to hiking, to hot springs, and a little off the beaten track.

We were three people travelling together, so we booked a one-bedroom apartment at Guest house Frumskogar and we could NOT have been happier with our accommodation.

Although they were fully booked each night, it was so quiet, we felt like we were the only ones there! We had the hot tub all to ourselves.

We enjoyed the travel tips provided by Karla, our hostess. The best was the local restaurant, the hiking trails up to the hot river, and the price!!!

We were reluctant to share a review of our excellent accommodation, for fear that when we return, which we definitely want to do, that we won't be able to get a room!!!

  • Liked — Quiet, close to nature, hiking, local swimming pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

We ended up in the Frumskogar Guesthouse by chance because we found one of their leaflets in the place we stayed before.
Lucky us!
The house is an old building (for icelandic standards) but perfectly kept and conveniently located in the center of Hveragerdi (which is quite a small town however).
We had a double room in the main building (also on offer are 5 small flats), the room had two windows a wonderfully soft double bed, tv, washbasin, a small closet, desk and chair.
There is a spotlessly clean shared bathroom with shower and another shared toilet room.
We were nicely surprised also with the bathrobes that were provided along with towels in our room.
We didn't try breakfast (which is usually quite expensive and often billed separately from the room) and went instead to the nearby bakery (10 min. by foot). Unfortunately we couldn't sample the hotpot (it was late in the evening) but it looked good, we also found the small flats looking very stylish (although more expensive).
Another greatly appreciated touch was a folder prepared by the landlady that contained take away maps + personally written tour guides of some of the best places to visit in the area. That's service exellence!

  • Liked — The nice extra service touches
  • Disliked — The shelf over the washbasin is too low. you bump your head into it :-(
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolbrún B, Owner at Guesthouse Frumskogar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
thanks for you lovely review and we are very glad that you like to stay at Frumskogar guesthouse
and we hope your trip to Iceland have been enjoyable
Best regards Kolbrún B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Frumskogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Frumskogar

Address: Frumskogar 3, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Frumskogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Frumskogar Iceland/Hveragerdi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Frumskogar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.