We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frost and Fire Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frost and Fire Guest House to your Saves list
Frost and Fire Guest House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Somewhere
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a great time, the facilities were wonderful, the room was a little strange from the outside, but inside it was well decorated with a great bed and bathroom. The hot tubs and swimming pool were just fantastic, I can't recommend it enough.

Only complaint would be the restaurant that was only serving an expensive buffet - we had a large lunch and had difficulty finding food in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are very glad that you liked your stay here and that you recommend it for others.
Before Christmas we offer a traditional Icelandic Christmas buffet on Saturdays. It is a bit more expensive than the menu because it offers a great variety of quality food, such as wild Reindeer, smoked wild goose, wild trout and much more. It is a great experience to try it, even for the Icelanders.

We hope to see you again one day and wish you a great winter.

Best regards from F&F
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    65
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
132
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kopavogur, Iceland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

WOW! If you come to Iceland do not miss this small but beautiful hotel, about 30 minutes from Reykjavik. Located in Hveragerdi, a town which is known for its geothermal activity, the hotel offers all of the local best - hot swimmingpool, hot pots, beautiful scenery, locally grown food, sauna, really nice and knowledgeable staff.
Me and my husband went for a getaway weekend and I honestly dont know how we managed to drive back to Reykjavik, as we we're so relaxed and well fed by wonderful dinner and breakfast.
A must go to - if you're there during summer, ask for hiking trails... they are really good and close.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review and your tips for the future guests.
We really appreciate your kind words towards the staff of Frost and Fire, that is really encouraging for all of us.

We thank you for your visit and hope that you will come back for a visit soon.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

When we booked, we were told that their restaurant was not open midweek in winter, but they helpfully recommended and booked a local place for us. Having arrived in a blizzard, we were VERY pleased to find that - due to guest comments - the restaurant was open. It was excellent, too!

Our whole stay was great. We were able to watch the Northern Lights in comfort from our room overlooking the stream. Breakfast was a good selection and the restaurant view of many small steam vents added an interesting dimension. We didn't take up the option of cooking our own boiled egg in one, as it was icy outside.

By the way, if you are travelling North from here, don't miss the Faxi waterfall on the road up towards Gullfoss. Faxi isn't as dramatic (or as easy to find), but beautiful and much less touristy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the stream also face North for light watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for this nice review. We are also very happy that we can have our new restaurant open all days during the winter, thanks to all of you travelers who are staying at Frost & Fire hotel. We couldn´t do it with out you. We are glad that you liked all our facilities and that you had the chance to see the Northern lights, that is always something, even for us the Icelanders.

We send our greetings from Hveragerði and wish you a lovely winter.
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent one night here and wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived one afternoon without reservations, about 2, were given a guided tour of the facility and our room and checked in quickly. We loved the provided bathrobes and slippers and spent the rest of the afternoon treating ourselves to the "spa". We took a dip in the geothermal heated pool, a steam in the sauna (which could have been a bit warmer), a rest in the relaxation room and spent a lot of time in the hot pot..ie the hot tub. It was next to the river and the sounds and sights were glorious. The staff is fabulous and helpful. We especially enjoyed Lara (sp) a young girl from Germany who spent time telling us about the area. We would have liked to have eaten at the restaurant but it was closed for a special party. We ended up at a pizza place, as there are not many choices in this small town. We did see, briefly, the northern lights out our windows. We had planned to hike up to the top of the hill around midnight for better views as the staff suggested but there were gale force winds and it just did not seem possible. The breakfast was very good and fresh including the brown bread cooked in the thermal springs. Our only regret is we did not have another night so we could have hiked some, enjoyed their restaurant and spent more time in the hot pot!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guests.
Thank you for your lovely review, especially the comment concerning one of our staff, Laura. You know that you are always welcome back and we will be here. Unfortunately the restaurant was completely booked the night you were here.

We thank you for your stay and again for your friendly review.

Best regards from all of us in Frost & Fire
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Loved this establishment. The accommodation was excellent, I felt really special during my stay here. The rooms were great, I felt as though I was in a lodge rather than a hotel room. It was spacious, clean and comfortable with a great outlook over the surrounding scenery. The food was excellent, thoroughly enjoyed the experience of eating here, even the crockery was very individual, I believe it is specially made for them. There is something very special about being in a hot tub with a crowd of friends after dark and surrounded by snow, an experience I am very glad I was able to have and hope to repeat. The staff were friendly and helpful, definitely an establishment everybody should visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your kind and personal review. It is extremely important for us to provide a unique experience, a personal service and a home feel atmosphere here.
There is truly something special about sitting in the hot tubs by the river surrounded by steam, stars and the quietness.

We thank you for your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storås
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had high expectations to this hotel in Hveragerdi, a place located directly on a volcano magma chamber - and the expectations were met! Elegant rooms with an extra touch, hot tubs, pool, Icelandic-style breakfast with eggs to boil in a stemy hole beside the hotel... a truly special and wonderful experience. Only one thing to pick at: The hotel staff could be better at heating the pool in the mornings. Otherwise this is definetly a place to visit in Iceland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your wonderful review. And it is really good to hear that we have met your expectations. It can be difficult sometimes to deliver the right image of the service through the internet but we have tried to do that and hopefully other travelers will also get the same message as you did.
The swimming pool is heated by steam and it can be difficult to keep the steam on while people are in the pool because of a danger of burning. But this is a good comment and now we leave the steam a little bit open over the night so the swimming pool will be warmer in the morning. It is nicer to have it a little warmer during the winter than over the summer time.

Our best regards from Iceland and we will be here to welcome you back.
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This guesthouse was hands down the best place I stayed in Iceland. Not only is it off the beaten track, quiet, beautiful, has hot tubs and a steam room, but it is only a 20 minute walk from one of the best hikes in the history of hikes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for this lovely encouraging review. We really appreciate that.

Thank you for your stay and we hope you will visit us again next time you will come to Iceland.

Best regards from Hveragerði
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frost and Fire Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Guest House

Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frost and Fire Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Guest House Iceland/Hveragerdi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frost and Fire Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.