We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb facilities and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frost and Fire Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Frost and Fire Guest House to your Saves list
Frost and Fire Guest House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Herk-de-Stad, Limburg, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“superb facilities and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Set in a steam-filled valley, with its own springs providing hot water and steam for the hot tubs, swimming pool and steam room, this is a gem of a place. Robes and flip flops are provided for getting between the water-based facilities and breakfast is excellent, whether you take the opportunity to boil your own egg in the hot spring or not. The river's clean, cool and clear, and a four mile hike into the hills takes you to its breathable thermal source (careful, some bits are very hot indeed). They only really lose points for the fact we could hear every word said in reception from our room.

Room Tip: Room 1 has stunning views, but is right by reception, and you can hear it very clearly. Room tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dearest Guests.

Thank you for your lovely review.
It is nice that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel and the surroundings as well.

Room nr. 1 was next to the dining room and the kitchen. Now we have moved all of that to a new building so the noise problem will be a history. Instead we have made a new room next to nr. 1.

Best regards from Hveragerði, The hot spring capital of the world !

Elfa D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    66
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
134
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked a couple of nights here following a recommendation from a friend and was very glad I'd done so. From the outside it looks slightly shed-like (not uncommon for buildings in Iceland) but don't be put off - inside it's lovely. The rooms are big and attractively decorated. The one we were in had a big patio window which opened out onto a wooden balcony, and a view of the river.

As many reviewers have noted, Hveragerdi is a geothermal area and this place makes good use of it with a reasonably large swimming pool and two hot tubs outside - we like walking so it was great to end the day off soaking up the steaming water while enjoying the view. The place also provides huge fluffy bathrobes to make the trip over there more comfortable. The only thing I would have liked to see (and this is just a small thing) were some flip flops. The ground was slightly stoney and as we were there in March we just had big boots with us as it was freezing. Like I say, not a big deal but just a suggestion.

Breakfast was great. A buffet with different breads and cheese, fish, eggs (which you can also cook yourself in a hot spring outside) and cereals. And lots of it. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I've already recommended this place to other people. A really relaxing couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guests.

Thank you for your friendly review. It is nice that you enjoyed your stay here.

We have slippers in all of our rooms now. Our stone walls are designed not to be painted, but to adjust to the colors in the nature around the hotel. But they seem a little colorless for that reason.

We wish you pleasant summer and our best regards from F&F Hotel.
Elfa D. þórðard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying at Frost and Fire for one night at the start of a group tour my room appeared to be newly decorated with a very comfortable queen bed and modern ensuite with plenty of hot water. A kettle enabling a hot drink was available on a sofa table but the lack of a power point close by meant all electrical items had to be plugged in next to the bed or in the bathroom where the item had to be placed on the floor as there was no shelf available. Our evening meal was beautifully cooked followed the next morning with a wide selection of breakfast items. A novel experience was cook your own eggs – steamed in an outdoor geothermal outlet using a fishing net. The individual chalets are perched overlooking a river with outdoor hot tubs allowing a relaxing enjoyment of the view, along with a heated swimming pool. The staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guests.

Thank you for your lovely review both about the hotel and our great staff.
We must fix this electrical issue as soon as possible, but it was nice to see that you enjoyed the stay with us.

Hopefully you will visit us again one day, trying out our new spa facilities and also our new restaurant !

Best regards from Frost and Fire Hotel
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Attractively located on a river bank, the hotel offers clean and well maintained rooms. There are hot tubs on the river side where one can sit and take in the atmosphere, even if the wind chill factor is well below freezing. The buffet breakfast was lovely and we even boiled our eggs outside on hot rocks. Highly educational for children! The staff made us feel very welcome.

There are some very pleasant walks nearby where you can see boiling water in holes in the ground!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guests.

Thank you for your very kind review concerning the Hotel and our lovely staff.
We hope you will be able to visit us again one day and wish you a very pleasant summer.

Best regards from F&F.
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent the final 2 days of our trip here, and congratulated ourselves on the choice. Everyone was friendly, quickly responding to requests for extra pillows, answering all our questions. The room was lovely and quiet with an interesting little entry hallway from which guests reach the bathroom door before reaching another door to the bedroom/sitting area. Those 2 doors enabled one person to nip out to shower and soak in the hot tub while watching the northern lights at midnight without awakening their mate--wonderful if one of you is a light sleeper or likes more of a buffer. The glass window in the outside entry door let light in from two sides when the bedroom door was open; however the fact that it was not entirely opaque also meant that you might be seen walking from the bathroom into the bedroom. Not a problem as long as you are aware. We really enjoyed this place. Smoked trout on the breakfast buffet along with bread baked in the naturally steamy ovens outside. We at first did not understand the poles with nets sitting at some guests' tables. It looked like a gathering of butterfly catchers. But, no--the nets were for guests to cook eggs in the cooking hot pot outside the sunny breakfast room. The super staff listened patiently, offered suggestions, even wrote down the Icelandic musical group my husband enjoyed hearing softly playing during breakfast without his asking. They knew how to be attentive without being intrusive. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dearest guests.

Thank you for your lovely review about Frost and Fire Hotel. We really appreciate that and hopefully you will visit us again one day to try our new restaurant !

We wish you all the best.
Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Perfect location just out of town, overlooking the river and the steaming hillside. The staff was friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was very good. We were even able to see the Northern Lights from our balcony. There are two large hot tubs and a pool overlooking the river. A great place to stay to explore this hot spring area. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dearest guest.

Thank you for your lovely comment. It was nice that you saw the Northern lights from your room. The Hotel is really well situated to see it since we try to keep the area free from "light pollution".

We hope you will be able to visit us again one day and wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Elfa D. þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights and, like others before us, wished our entire vacation was booked in here. The city of Reykjavik was nice, fun and entertaining and the Hilton Nordica Hotel did not diasappoint us, but when we ventured out in the country looking for a unique small town experience we were pleasantly surprised with how wonderful this location is. To make it better is the relaxed peaceful atmosphere, the great staff with their kindness and smiles. The rooms were just perfect especially for a night of watching for and viewing northern lights right from the balcony, the hot tubs soothed our jet lagged bodies, the sound of the river trickling by, and the awesome scenery right in the backyard was just supurb! Breakfast was delicious and also a cultural experience to do our own "earth cooking" in the thermal steam vent. Wow! We will be back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager810, Owner at Frost and Fire Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your very kind review and all the great photos !
We are so happy to read that you have enjoyed all our facilities and also that you are coming back for a visit.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards from Frost&Fire

Elfa D. Þórðardóttir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frost and Fire Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frost and Fire Guest House

Address: Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hveragerdi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frost and Fire Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frost and Fire Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Hotel
Frost And Fire Hveragerdi
Frost And Fire Guest House Iceland/Hveragerdi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frost and Fire Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.