We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Herad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Herad to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Herad
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Midvangur 5 - 7, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly and convenient. On our "half" ring road tour, we stopped here last night. I'm a coffee snob and appreciated the good coffee here in the morning and by mountain view.

Looks like a quiet town and the hotel was a nice unwind from the bustle of travel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    82
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
93
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Icelandair Hotel Herad is Icelandair Hotels property in the east of Iceland. It is located in the charming town of Egilsstadir, which boast amazing views and mild weather. My room had a view of the local lake and surrounding white-capped mountains. The place was recently renovated so it really felt fresh and modern but comfy as well.

The rooms are fairly basic, but they are comfortable and have all the modern amenities you would expect including flat screen tv, free wifi and comfortable bed.

The food was amazing. The hotel really emphasizes local produce, so everything is super fresh. The dining room is elegant yet casual and they have a nice lounge for happy hour - all in all a nice place to hang out.

Room Tip: If you are traveling to East Iceland or just along the Ring road, this is THE place to stay in Egils...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to split the trip up a bit, the hotel is right on route 1 which is handy, but there's no mini bar in the room so you need to take your own snacks - there's a large gas station next door so not a big problem. The restaraunt seemed expensive so we went to the hotel opposite on the lake and it was exceptional, on reflection we should have stayed there too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had been to this hotel before, 3 years ago the last time and the hotel had a completely new look and feel to it. I just learned that the common/joint rooms were reconstructed and they look great.

I like travelling in the East of Iceland in the winter, I was able to see reindeers the day at my arrival (5 min drive from the hotel) and at my check out day (20 min from the hotel). It was amazing. I took part in a tour with a company called Austurfor and it was great.

Breakfast at the hotel was very good and impressive, the local skyr from the neighbour farm Egilsstadir was surprisingly good. The bedrooms are nice, I slept well and enjoyed a good view. The shower was great, I took shower three times in my room - the shower head gave good amount of water.

Next, I want to take excursions to the Fjords and explore some of the culture options in the area and stay for 2 or 3 nights. I learned that there are many things to explore there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here one night whilst driving around iceland. We found the hotel food value as we managed to get to a room for ISK15,000 (£90) per Night by calling just 30 min before arrival to book a room.

The hotel is nicely accessible from route 1 and has parking

The public areas of the hotel are nice but we found the rooms bit basic and slightly old. The shower especially was tricky with hot water.

Overall we though this hotel is good for a short stay and is better than sleeping in the car which we also tried during this great adventure trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is easy to find, with comfortable, quiet bedrooms, a recently refurbished bar/lounge and a decent restaurant. After an excellent meal (loved the reindeer steak, sorry Santa) we had the best sleep of the trip so far.

The staff are a little scarce, but then it is off-season. The lady on reception in the morning was especially helpful, checking the road conditions for us before we set off for Myvatn and advising on the seismic activity.

So glad we are staying at others in this chain later in the trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Rooms modern and thoroughly sound proofed. The slightest noise disturbs me and I was worried about being next to the major road out of town. Close the vents on the windows and it's a cocoon of no sounds! Had a wonderful night's sleep.

Customer service almost non existent - well you have to see staff before you get service right? If we needed anything, we had to hunt for the staff!

No free internet access. Guests have to pay for a 24 hour access of which you spend 8 hours sleeping? Seems a rip off.

Breakfast was sparse even by Icelandic standards. The food was also very pricey!

Had dinner at the nearby B and B's restaurant and it was one of the best meals we had in our 14 days in Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Herad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Herad

Address: Midvangur 5 - 7, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Icelandair Hotel Herad 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Herad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Egilsstadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Herad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.