We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Egilsstadir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Egilsstadir to your Saves list
Guesthouse Egilsstadir
Lake Logurinn, Egilsstadir, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Egilsstadir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We very much liked the Guesthouse Egilsstadir. It is just down the road from the city center. It is a working farm and it was neat to see the local animals, including sheep that helped themselves to the hotel's grass. The room was very small but it was clean. We ate at the restauarant there and we found our dinners to be delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
65
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I just got back from my second trip to Iceland and the Egilsstadir Guesthouse restaurant was a culinary delight. So good, that we ate here twice in two days! The first night, I was given a complimentary seafood dip. It came in a quaint mini mason chair and I think it was lobster (see pic #1). It was fresh and tasty. Next, I had the goat cheese salad. It had a large helping of goat cheese on crisp butter lettuce with fresh beets. (See pic #2). Delish! For a main course, I had the Artic char and it was so tender and flavorful that it makes me hungry now just thinking about it! It melted in my mouth like butter. And speaking of butter, the pumpkin seed bread was scrumptious and it came with an herbed butter.

We had such a great meal that we decided to return the next night for dinner. I repeated the goat cheese salad and paired it with the lobster bisque. The soup had a coconut milk base and had a mild curry-like spice. It was delicious but I wished that there had been a bit more meat in it.

Waitstaff was friendly and efficient on both nights. We ate early in the evening and early in the season so we did not wait for a table. However, I can imagine that this place might get full quickly during the height of the season so you might want to see if they take reservations.

Room Tip: We did not stay here- just ate in restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Judging from the reviews to date, this hotel is phenomenal. It's not. It's good, but not a "must visit again". If you like historic houses with antique furniture, it's an interesting place to stay. And it is visually interesting. But like all old houses, it's creaky with thin walls, which makes it a bit noisy when people in other rooms are moving around. The staff are reasonably attentive, but a bit snooty. The advertised hot and cold breakfast was largely wiped clean an hour before closing, and was not replaced. On the plus side, it has a pretty location on the lake, and the beds were very comfortable. If you're visiting Egilsstadir, you don't have a whole lot of accomodation choices, and this may (or may not) be the best available. And it is indeed fine, albeit a bit pricey. But don't arrive expecting the best of Icelandic hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This beautfiul, historic (1903), guesthouse, restaurant and farm, sits adjacent to picturesque Lake Logurinn on one side and on the other the small village of Egilsstadir. The wood-panel bar and dining room had a lodge feeling. The rooms featured wood floors and antique furniture. The guesthouse has a first-class restaurant and they served us even though we arrived near closing time. The breakfast buffet included hot choices and had an expresso machine. An adjacent cow shed provided fresh dairy and a farm atmosphere in the middle of the village. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledeable. Be aware there is no lift, there is a spiral staircase, and there are no ground level rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side have a view of the lake. Higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We decided to do a 2 day round the island driving trip starting from Rekjavik, all along route 1. Not much planning involved but we emailed in advance and they kept us a room with no deposit and we were very pleased with location, the staff, the standard of accommodation and most of all the food! They were offering a 4 course meal at the time and it was excellent. Good value and so long as a good wine is not prerequisite it was good value. Met who we think we're the owners at breakfast and they were real friendly. I'd be surprised if there was better within 100 clicks of Egilsstadir.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As usual a stay in this hotel is wonderful. Egilsstadir was very icy and we were very happy to stay in this guesthouse. Excellent room with a view on the lake. We were the only guest of the guesthouse and we got a first class service. The swiss chef prepared a nice diner for us. We will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent dinner, very reasonable rates in October, decent Internet speeds and comfy beds. Each room has its own shape and character. Staying there a couple of nights I determined that the rooms on the 3rd floor are better generally. Not a lot to do around egilsstadir, but if you are going there stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Egilsstadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Egilsstadir

Address: Lake Logurinn, Egilsstadir, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Egilsstadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Egilsstadir Hotel Egilsstadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Egilsstadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.