We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Egilsstadir

Save Saved
You added Guesthouse Egilsstadir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Egilsstadir
Lake Logurinn, Egilsstadir, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Egilsstadir B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As usual a stay in this hotel is wonderful. Egilsstadir was very icy and we were very happy to stay in this guesthouse. Excellent room with a view on the lake. We were the only guest of the guesthouse and we got a first class service. The swiss chef prepared a nice diner for us. We will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Excellent dinner, very reasonable rates in October, decent Internet speeds and comfy beds. Each room has its own shape and character. Staying there a couple of nights I determined that the rooms on the 3rd floor are better generally. Not a lot to do around egilsstadir, but if you are going there stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mývatnssveit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here just one night as a guide during a round trip around Iceland. We arrived late but that was no problem. The food at the restaurant was good and the service was good. The beds were good and the rooms ok. WiFi worked well. The best thing was the laid back athmosphere and an excellent location, out at the lake outside of the town but just a 5 min walk to the town center. Breakfast was excellent. Only downside i could think of would be the stairs, that is if i wasn´t young and healthy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We did not stay at the guesthouse, but visited the restaurant based on a recommendation we saw online. We got to the restaurant in a bit of a hurry, after a long day of driving and sightseeing, so felt a bit underdressed - the place seems very posh and upmarket (although I felt more relaxed on seeing the guy at the next table had no shoes on.. must have been a guest at the hotel).
We ordered steak which turned out be nothing short of excellent. House wine was all right - nothing to write home about, but quite decent at the price. Our friends had mushroom soup and I think fish of the day, which they said was great too.
This was the most expensive place we'd been to in Iceland (or anywhere else, for that matter), but we don't regret a single penny. It was an amazing meal, I only wish Iceland was that far so we could go to Egilsstadir again.

Room Tip: Order steak at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We did not stay at the Guesthouse as I was booked in at the Icelandair Hotel up the road. We did head over for lunch though as it came highly recommended by the knowledgeable girl at the visitors centre in Egilsstadir.
She said it was a relaxing and inviting place for lunch or dinner. She was on the money. It has the feel of a small country inn.
There is not a lot of chicken on the menus of Iceland so when a chicken salad was offered for lunch I ordered it. Far exceeded my expectations. Tender chunks of seasoned breast on a bed of barley and greens. Done to perfection in fine dinning style.
We then moved into the lounge area by the bar and had a wonderful coffee with a huge slice of chocolate cake.
There is an outdoor patio for dinning with a view of the river. I wish I had returned for dinner but ate at my hotel instead. What a mistake, but that is another review of the Icelandair Hotel Herad.
Total cost including tax/tip for lunch for two was 7,200 Kr about $60 cdn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night. It was a welcome break from the B&B's we had been staying in. Was much more like a small country Inn. We had a room on the top floor which overlooked the lake. It was lovely. The room was quaint, the bathroom small but perfect. It had a nice romantic feel to it.

We had the most delicious dinner. The lamb was outstanding. The whole plate was delicious as was dessert! I can't remember what we ate but I remember it being a fabulous evening in a lovely old dining room. The menu comes in an old book - pasted inside the front pages. Every table also has a book on it with proper etiquette for eating. Fun to read! Reminds you of your manners!

Just outside the hotel is their cow barn which is really stinky! Fortunately you don't smell it anywhere else and it was quite pleasant visiting the sad eyed cows. Behind the hotel is a lovely lake and patio to sit on. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Egilsstadir guesthouse for one night in Jul 2012.

The guesthouse is fairly large (it is actually an old 19th century hotel restored fy the owners) and located by a river and farms. The staff and owners were very friendly and the welcome felt really genuine.

It houses a great restaurant which prides itself for its beef. I have not tried the beef but the lamb was one of the best I ever tasted.

Breakfast was on par with the dinner, with excellent choice and quality and fresh, delicious waffles.

The guesthouse had an old English feeling, very cozy and welcoming after a long day hiking.

The rooms are old fashioned and a bit lacking in sound and heat proofing, but they have a charm that makes up for it.

The bed was soft, bathroom fresh, equipment modern. Only the size of the bedroom was really an issue (I had a single room).

A great place to stay in Egilsstadir.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guesthouse Egilsstadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Egilsstadir

Address: Lake Logurinn, Egilsstadir, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Egilsstadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Guesthouse Egilsstadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Egilsstadir Hotel Egilsstadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Egilsstadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.