We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reykjahlid

Save Saved
You added Hotel Reykjahlid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reykjahlid
Reykjahlid, Myvatn 660, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Myvatn
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a room with an amazing view over the water. The staff are friendly and breakfast was very nice. The room is quite large and very clean. The only negative is that the walls are thin and we could her the people in the next room talking, opening and shutting their door continuously which got to be annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are visiting Iceland, Lake Myvatn is a must visit place and you dont need to look beyond this Hotel. Its simply outstanding. The views from our room was quite stunning and the rooms per se were spacious. The caretakers were very friendly. We went there a day before our reservation and since it was winter, the hotel was locked with no guests. We had to call the owner who ensured people drove all the way to open the Hotel and accomodate us within a couple of hours. Further since we are vegetarians, they specifically called their cook (who was on vacation) and got a few recipes and cooked for us. Truly a great experience. The staff were helpful with just abt everything - be it regarding suggestion of places to see, tour companies, road conditions etc.

Lake Myvatn is a stunningly beautiful place. Further the aurora sightings here were the best in our entire trip. The tour packages are a lot more expensive than the ones in Reykjavik.Sunrise / Sunset points are definitely a highlight and is quite near Hotel Reykjahlid - abt 10 mins drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lealholm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. We did upgrade to the top floor which was worth it for the view and bigger room. It was very clean and comfortable and had drinks available all day! Staff were very friendly and there was a bar (no restaurant but plenty around to choose from), which meant that is was a social place in the evening to meet fellow travellers. It has a great relaxed feel to it and then there is scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast! Well done to the staff and owner!

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our Iceland trip. We had a lovely warm welcome and were invited to drinks in the bar as we were celebrating a special anniversary. Our room was quite small but had the most amazing view overlooking the lake, it was lovely to be able to sit in bed and just watch the bird life early in the morning and late at night. My only negative comment would be that the room was boiling hot and having the window open made no difference, but this did not spoil our time here. The hotel only has 9 rooms so it felt more like being in someone's home rather than a hotel. Breakfast was similar to other places we stayed in and we ate in the bistro of the larger sister hotel which was ok but very busy and so very noisy.

The young woman who looked after us was great and gave us lots of advice re things to see and gave us a voucher for free access to Myvatn Nature Baths, which we enjoyed. A lovely small hotel right on the banks of the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel is situated on the shore of the lake - ask for a top floor lake view room if possible. The hotel is unpretentious and simy furnished but ideal for exploring the Myvatyn area. The breakfast is simple but perfectly adequate with fresh food.

The infamous flies are not a problem in the hotel - even with the room window open all night. They only become a problem when walking on the lake shore.

Loads to explore in the area and for evening meals highly recommend The Cowshed and Daddi's Pizza just up the road in Vogar,

We would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A small hotel right on the banks of Lake Myvatn (not sure what a previous reviewer means by 10 minutes walk away - more like 10 seconds; think it might refer to the sister hotel, Reynilhlid). Wonderful, warm, friendly welcome by informed and helpful staff member. Large, clean room on top floor with good blackout curtains. No lift. Bathroom a bit old fashioned. No telephone or TV in room - not a problem for us, but some travellers might miss them. TV just outside room in lounge with lovely views across to the lake. Free good internet access. Snacks available but, for full meals, you can go to the sister hotel a few minutes along the road, where there is a choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July. On arrival no issues checking in and offered assistance with places to see/visit during our stay with small map provided - the same as provided by tourist information. Surprised at breakfast to be offered scrambled eggs and bacon, not offered at any other hotel during 2 week holiday. Staff friendly and allowed us to make sandwiches for lunch at no cost. Flasks filled with a smile. Very enjoyable stay in an excellent location. Yes there are midges galore due to the lake but had no issues with them in room during night due to taking required repellents.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Reykjahlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjahlid

Address: Reykjahlid, Myvatn 660, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Reykjahlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjahlid Hotel Myvatn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reykjahlid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.