We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reykjahlid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Reykjahlid to your Saves list
Hotel Reykjahlid
Reykjahlid, Myvatn 660, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Myvatn
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Classic Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My experience at Hotel Reykjahlid in May 2013 was wonderful. Location of the property near the Myvatn Lake was the reason that I booked it. But it is really a perfect accommodation. Rooms are beautiful as well as well appointed. Food is well cooked and elegantly presented. Staff is efficient and services are prompt. I will love to return and would strongly recommend it also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishpon, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When in Myvatn, that is the place you stay - no doubt. A lovely boutique hotel, with a perfect location - on the shores of the lake with great views, which is the real and main reason you should go there. Add to that - spacious rooms, clean, with comfortable en-suite, very good breakfast, proximity to the nearby local supermarket, and just by the main road no. 1, with free and very comfortable parking. Rates are quite fair for off season. (A) Don't miss the nature baths of the north, just 2-3 min. by car. (B) Don't forget to use the 10% percent reduction in the fairly adjacent restaurant. (C) Ask for the rooms upstairs with a lake view, however keep in mind that there is no elevator, and you would have to carry your baggage all the way up. (D) Bear in mind that rates are just doubled in the season, and booking in advance is essential.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spent two nights in this hotel recently as part of a ten day itinerary around Iceland. Whilst all the accommodation was very acceptable this hotel stood out for its location and its customer service which was about as good as it gets. The staff couldn't be more obliging and more helpful. The breakfast was by far the best we got on our holiday and we really appreciated the touch of a flask of coffee and pastries/biscuits available in the dining room throughout the day. Clean rooms with ample space and great views overlooking a stunning landscape. And on top of all that kind, friendly , cheerful warm staff -with a special mention for Solveig who brightened the place with her smile and conversation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little hotel, in a spectacular location. The view over the lake from room 11 was just beautiful especially in the snow. The couple who run it are fabulous. The spread for breakfast was ample, good variety with the added option of freshly cooked eggs and bacon. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable, its one of the biggest rooms we've had in our nearly 2 weeks in Iceland. Its also well located with a supermarket across the road. We just hope to return in summer to see the lake/area then.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel Reykjahlid gives you a ringside seat to Lake Myvatn and whatever the sky above it is doing at any given time.

We stayed there for two nights in October. One night it snowed. On the other I saw the most beautiful, intense, long-lasting display of the northern lights that I could ever hope to see.

We had a room on the top floor, as we’d requested, with windows on two walls. This became very important on the night the northern lights appeared... we kept running from one side of the room to the other to see the full display!


The hotel is run by a young couple whose outgoing, down-to-earth and friendly personalities give the hotel particular charm. Ragnhildur was especially helpful to us, making long phone calls to a garage in Akureryi to try to arrange for a rental car exchange for us. Both Ragnhildur and Birkir were at all times very accessible and accommodating.

Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. We were offered a full bacon and egg breakfast , as were the other guests, but we were quite happy with the buffet selection.

There is a bar in the hotel. A nearby bistro serves tasty lunches and dinners.

There’s abundant natural beauty (of course! We are talking about Iceland here) and many opportunities for hiking and other outdoor fun. My one big regret is that we didn’t take advantage of the nearby Myvatn Nature Baths as we’d planned. This gives me just the reason I need to go back and make good on that promise to myself.

If you are looking for lodgings that are cozy, fresh, and unpretentious, in a stunning part of northern Iceland, then the Hotel Rekyjhahlid is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. The views are spectacular there, though I'm sure they're lovely fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon on September 9th with no booking and were lucky to get two rooms on the top floor. 3 flights of stairs were no problems for us. Our friends did get one of the lake view rooms which was very very lovely (our carpark views were fine too!). FYI - there is a small lounge area & balcony on the top floor. Fantastic wifi in the hotel - wish mine was as fast in my house!

Our twin room was lovely - great linen/beddings. Lots of space. Light, airy, clean. Cupboard. Bed side tables with lamps. Small table with chairs in the room. FYI - no tv in room. Decent size bathroom with bath - fyi the shower/bath tap setting is slightly different than anywhere I've been before. From memory, the bath tap/spout needs to be pulled to have the water flow out of the shower head. Room and bathroom had a radiator (perfect for drying soggy clothes on).We'd heard to expect a lot of rain & strong winds that evening, and sure enough, as we were eating in Gamli, it was pelting down and the winds were getting unruly. Given we were still a bit jetlagged from the flights from Australia we woke around 5am. Couldn't see out the windows due to the snow covering them! It was a substantial dumping. Probably about 15cm, growing to 20cm during the end of the day. Just shy of gale force winds. I was anxious about breakfast not being served if staff couldn't arrive, I was ready to commandeer the kitchen to serve all - however as we walked downstairs at 8am, we were greeted by the lovely couple who asked if we'd like bacon & eggs. SAVED! breakfast was a good spread - bacon, eggs, fruit, cereals, tea/coffee/hot choc, juices, cakes. I certainly didn't go hungry. As all the guests made their way down, the staff sorted travel arrangements, kept us up to date on road closures/openings etc. They were soo pleasant and helpful given this completely unexpected turn of events which mucked up everyones travel plans in the hotel (probably about 24 people or so). Apparently it was the worst storm in Myvatn in early September in just about forever. We enjoyed our day being snowed in. The lamb soup was great, warming, hearty - perfect for the day really. I also had no objections to the afternoon waffles :)
We stayed a second night. We were wondering if we'd need to stay another, as we've not ever driven in snowy/icy conditions. However, things got a better, and we made a sudden change of plan at 2pm to depart. The staff were more than fine with this sudden change of events & settled our account and farewell-ed us. Other people have mentioned excessive rates, we felt more than happy with the $240 AUD for 2 nights for 2 people (breakfast both days, and we also had soup for lunch one day). As to a noisy, old wooden building - I think not! Sure, we heard the winds but they were gale force winds at time. Otherwise we were soo glad we were in such a sturdy building - were feeling worried for the cyclists and campers out in the elements.

Again, thanks for the staff who really made out stay fantastic in trying conditions!

Room Tip: Top floor - ask if you can overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangasala, Finland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I loved this place! Cute small hotel, with large and cosy rooms (very comfortable beds) and wonderful view to the Myvatn lake. Very near all lake Myvatn attractions (Myvatn Nature baths about 3 km away) as well as Dettifoss water falls, and also a great location to do day- or halfdaytrips for example to Akureyri or Husavik (the "whale watching capital of Europe"). The receptionist lady was very friendly and helpful, pointed us out the nearby attractions on a detailed map even though we didn´t even ask yet. :) Great breakfast. We stayed two nights, would have loved to stay longer if we had the time. Myvatn was my favourite place of our trip (we drove around Iceland in one week).

We had made reservations to hotel Reynihild, but due technical reasons they had changed it to hotel Reykjahlid (they e-mailed me about it before our trip), for which I was just thankful after the visit. :) The Reynihild hotel is owned by the same company and is just nearby, it looked also nice from the outside but is far bigger than Reykjahlid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reykjahlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjahlid

Address: Reykjahlid, Myvatn 660, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Reykjahlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjahlid Hotel Myvatn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reykjahlid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.