We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and exciting dining. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cowshed Cafe

Cowshed Cafe
Vogafjosi, Myvatn 660, Iceland
4644303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Myvatn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unique and exciting dining. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

But you'll feel bad about ordering beef !!!!

It's a working farm with a lovely restaurant attached - with a view through windows of the cowshed and milking area.

Food was great. We had Icelandic lamb soup (couldn't face a burger while being watched by cattle!) and then some home made cakes for dessert.

Also there's a small gift shop with some handmade items, and you can walk into the cowshed and see the animals up close (they're very friendly!)

A fantastic little stop on a long drive. Could easily miss this little gem !!!!! Well worth a stop if you're heading round these parts of northern iceland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    72
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Wonderful food, wonderful service and the views were fab! We were sat by the windows looking into the cow shed, where a cow had given birth that morning! We were shown the calf and had a look round the cow shed after a fantastic meal. The staff were wonderful and were very attentive toward our 8 month old son! Had a fantastic time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A cattleshed transformed in a restaurant... but not fully!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This place is really a still operating cowshed with the calves that can be seen from the dining hall behind a glass window (as the milking room), but do not worry: no bad smell or noises will disturb your dinner (and hopefully you won't disturb the animals!).
Apart from this original characteristic the restaurant is pretty good, with a good choice of traditional icelandic food of the Myvatn lake region and also a choice of vegetarian food, almost everything produced in the farm (like the local Geysir bread that cannot be missed).
Service is efficient and helpful (in giving advices), prices are average for Iceland.
This place is defintely worth a stop for lunch or dinner if you are in the region of Myvatn lake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's in the name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Was it convenient? Yes. Was it amazing service? Yes. Were cows there? Yes.
If just popping in for cocktails- or a meal- we found it to be world class. Local foods like Arctic Char or lamb graced my plates the various nights we went there. I attempted to allow myself to try the recommendations set by the staff- and was not displeased with the results. Also tried a variety of Icelandic beverages- not to be missed is the Brennivin or the Angelica made locally. Oh- and yes there are cows. Plenty of them to watch as they spend the winter indoors. This is a working dairy farm- watch the morning or evening milk - try fresh milk and fabulous cheese. Maybe venture inside and visiting with the cows- They all have names.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“unique dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Good home cooking, great geysir bread, generous servings. Our tour group went there twice. The meat soup is one of the best I had in Iceland, and the farm salad was big and filling. This is one of the most unique places i've eaten as it is literally a cowshed - or at least attached to one. One area of the restaurant has windows where one can view the cows or one can stop in and visit them. The view from the rest of the windows was beautiful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowshed Cafe also viewed

Myvatn, Northeast Region
Myvatn, Northeast Region
 
Myvatn, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 

Been to Cowshed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowshed Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.