We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed in May!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dettifoss waterfall

Dettifoss waterfall
Myvatn, Iceland
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$269*
and up
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Myvatn
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Rishpon, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Closed in May!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We attempted to get to Dettifoss on 8th of May, and both routes from route no. 1, were closed. It is indeed a disappointed that no effort is been done to enable visitors to get to the biggest waterfall in Europe on May! At least one of the 3 possible access roads should really be open, No?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    76
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a soggy hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A lot of snow still around and melting made it quite a hike to get there - even at the end of May! Flags had marked out the route to get there - which took a good half an hour as you had to be careful not to go knee deep into water under the snow. Many people did so it was better to walk the longer marked route that was flagged. Couldn't walk around the waterfall much because of the snow either. It is very beautiful and worth the hike though. Pity the road was closed the other side of Dettifoss too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Glad the fog cleared up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I drove down road 862 which was newly paved since there was still quite a bit of snow on the ground. I'm extremely glad I did since there were some points where the snow next to the road was higher than the car. The road itself had no issues. Next there was a 30 minute hike through the snow. Once we got to the waterfall, the fog was so thick that you could hear the water but couldn't see anything. I walked along the left side to get a better view of the waterfall, and the fog completely cleared after 30 minutes. I'm glad it cleared up so quickly and that I was able to catch a view! It's one of the bigger waterfalls and worth the stop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Not Igazu, but still pretty impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

One gets rather fatigued with waterfalls (foss in Icelandic) in this country bu this is one of the more impressive.

Lots of water thundering over a cliff edge, lots of tourists snapping, careful where you walk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome power”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The new road has made this waterfall much more accessible. It is the most powerful in Europe. The noise is thunderous. Must see!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dettifoss waterfall also viewed

Myvatn, Northeast Region
Myvatn, Northeast Region
 
Myvatn, Northeast Region
Myvatn, Northeast Region
 

Been to Dettifoss waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dettifoss waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.