We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Farmhouse- good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Stong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Stong to your Saves list
Guesthouse Stong
660 Myvatn, Myvatn, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Myvatn
United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Farmhouse- good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although they have cabins that look enticing we stayed in the expanded farmhouse. Rooms were smallish but did not feel tiny, shared facilities worked out well. The fact that this is a working farmhouse was the best. The owner was happy to show us the farm and what they produced. Needless to say, the meals all had some parts produced on the farm.
The location is not on the lake but is very near to everything in the area. We were happy we chose it as a base camp for adventures around the lake, up to Husavik, and over to the hydro fields. Remarkable area and a great place to rest at night.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms involve a short but steep staircase. Rooms off the lobby area are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We were road tripping the ringroad so had no trouble driving to the guesthouse, but it is a wee way off the main road. We, a group of 3, stayed in the main guesthouse just for one night. The hostess was lovely and took our stinky wet boots to dry in their drying room. The room was excellent, roomy and had a beautiful view of the farm and sunset. There are two spas, which were lovely to sit in a the snow surrounded us. Stunning breakfast, with meats from the farm (smoked lamb, pate...mmm...). Only regret would be not staying longer, as the offer to walk around the farm was very tempting.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The guesthouse is located quiet a distance from the main road but it's well marked from the main road. The road to the guesthouse was covered with snow due to the bad weather that day but there was no worry as we managed to arrive with a small car.

We were told to take off our shoes if our shoes are dirty. I think it would be better if it's the rule that everyone take off their shoes to enter the guesthouse. That would help keep the place clean.

The room was basic, with a desk and a hand wash basin, and is very clean. The shared kitchen is not located in the guesthouse but a standalone building next to the guesthouse. There are many toilets and the one we used (not the one next to the check-in counter) was clean. The showers looked a bit old though with no toiletries, except with a hairdryer which is actually useful for us.

There was a living room with a TV and we saw other guests playing cards and just chill. Breakfast was adequate with home-made meat slices and cereals.

All in all, it was a value for money stay. Accommodation in Iceland is not cheap anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The cottage was clean, spacious and well equiped. It was very quite there. As I stayed in the cottage I do not know about the breakfast there or the rooms in the guesthouse. Although Stöng is a little off the road, it was definitly worth driving the extra kilometers.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It's a quiet place but fairly far from the main tourist part of Lake Myvtan but reasonably close to the attractions around the lake. The restaurant isn't bad but typically isn't budget priced but the food is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful stay in the main guesthouse. The room was simple, but clean and comfortable. The shared showers were clean and convenient, and overall we had a nice stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were traveling with 2 children, so they gave us a triple room that had bunkbeds and a 'double' bed. Perfect for us. I just mentioned the children in the comments when registering and they got back to me right away.
After we checked in we had the extra treat of being taken to visit some baby lambs that were staying in the barn. Our kids got to hold and pet them...a highlight of their trip! We can't say enough about how nice everyone was.
This is not the closest guesthouse to the lake and its attractions, it's off the beaten path, but well marked from the main road. Views were beautiful and we didn't mind being a little farther away.
This is a working farm, so it's not fancy...but clean, comfortable and friendly. We would love to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, just let them know and they will find a room that works for you either in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in the three bedroom cottage at Guesthouse Stöng in Mývatnssveit. Lots of room, well off the beaten path and a very helpful staff. It's not the closest guesthouse to the lake, but it was perfect for our family of 5. We'd definetly stay here again.

We also had a wonderful nighttime show of the Aurora Borealis, which topped of our stay nicely (see photo).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Stong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Stong

Address: 660 Myvatn, Myvatn, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Myvatn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Stong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Stong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.