We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value & location are strengths!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elda Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myvatn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elda Guest House
Save
You added Elda Guest House to your Saves list
Helluhraun 15, Myvatn, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Myvatn B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Value & location are strengths!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our group of 4 shared a 2-bedroom apartment with a shared bathroom. The space was more than adequate, as the apartment included a full kitchen as well. We could hear the guests in the neighboring apartment and the water had the aroma of well water (sulfur), but those would be our only quips. Even with those minor dings, Elda provides a lot of convenience and space for the money. Breakfast was included and had the typical selection of homemade breads and variety of meats, cheeses, and other breakfast pastries.

I would definitely recommend Elda for those looking for clean and comfortable accommodations on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Elda Guest House is a good place from which to explore the Myvatn area.

There are rooms in several buildings that are all beside each other. We were in building 9. Our room had a double bed and a sink and a mirror in the room. There was also a small table and chair. The building had 10 or 15 rooms, and there were at least four toilets and four showers - I didn't count, but there were an adequate number for the amount of rooms. Keep in mind this isn't what you picture when you normally think of a guest house - it's bigger and more like a dorm than staying in someone's house.

When we checked in we met the owner Jon. He was a very nice man.

We didn't spend much time in our room but it was bigger than some of the other basic rooms we stayed in elsewhere in Iceland.

The breakfast was plentiful, but the breakfast area can get quite busy. Some people ate in their rooms because there wasn't anywhere to sit.

Lots of parking.

The Myvatn area is getting more and more popular, and as such the prices of accommodations are way overpriced. We got a pretty good value at the Elda Guest House (for the area) - 16600ISK for one night in June.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerberget, Skåne Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clean and nice room. The breakfest was great. Don't forget to try the homemade jam and bread. And the good bread that is made in the hot steam nearby. The price is very good. The only bad thing is thatit is a bit noisy between the rooms. You must have silent neighbors...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great, simple little guest house, in an amazing location (between Lake Myvatn and the nearby geothermal regions). The owner went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Clean, with kitchen and free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The place was well located for seeing Myvatn, and easy to find. The room was very nice, clean and spacious, and the kitchens and bathrooms were of a similar quality. As with a lot of the guesthouses in Iceland the walls a bit thin, but overall a very good place to stay. Usual free wifi.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

managed by jon and the family this is a very nice stayin reykjahlid at lake myvatn. we booked an appartment (2 of us) which was very big. very good kitchen and cooking facilities. very friendly atmosphere, good breakfast!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Elda for 2 nights.
Our needs were certainly met - clean room, comfortable bed, great location.
The room was very stuffy and humid - the window opened a crack, and it was hard to air out.
Wifi - was in and out.
Regardless, would stay there again, met our needs - price / location / breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elda Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elda Guest House

Address: Helluhraun 15, Myvatn, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Myvatn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Myvatn
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elda Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.