We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view of the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vogafjos Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Vogafjos Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vogafjos Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Vogafjosi | 660 Myvatn, Myvatn, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Myvatn B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed a night at Vogafjos Guesthouse on 14 Oct 2012. Travelled a long way from Skaftafell area. When we got to Myvatn it was near sunset. After checking in, the reception guy gave us alot of locate tourist information as to what we could do and suggested quite a no. of it too. It was helpful. Since sunset was closed and with it through the restaurant glass, the view was spectacular. He suggested to go by the lake to see sunset without delay. We did exactly that and it was truly worthwhile. The wooden hut we had was on a separate setting to the reception and restaurant. The guy took us by car since it was across on the other side of the road, perhaps a 2 mins drive. The room was decent, the floor heating was burning hot and it got so hot at night I had to open th window to cool the temperature. The sound proof was a little weak. If there was a kettle in the room would have made it better. We had dinner back at the restaurant that night, portion was quite large. My husband and I shared a goulash soup followed by a lamb with salad and meatball with salad as main. The standard of food both in terms of taste and presentation was excellent, specially by a guesthouse standard. Although not cheap I think it was worth every penny! Not to mention that we saw northern light after the meal and we were over the moon! Next morning we had breakfast at the restaurant again. I saw the cows behind the glass when entrying the restaurant, I think the milk that was serving came from there. The selection of smoked fishes I know was home-made by the guesthouse. Overall, the breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    51
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night in February. Checked in at a busy Cowshed Café, was quick, simple, and straight forward. Locating our accommodation was fun (accommodation is separate to reception) and once in, was a pleasure to relax in. Under floor heating, plenty of space in the room, can park directly outside, made even more brilliant by having no guests either staying either side. Shower was exceptionally hot and traditionally smelly (sulphur!). Breakfast the next day was one of the best we had in Iceland. The selection was vibrant, thorough and of exceptionally good quality. This was all made more remarkable when you consider the view of the crater hverfjall, with the breaking dawn above. The icing on the cake, we could see the cows having their breakfast in the morning too, which was a truly unique experience. In summary, this was one of the best places we stayed in Iceland, with great VFM.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice, clean rooms with tea and coffee facilties, no tv. Looked like there was only three couples there, they put us all next to eachother and unfortunatly we were in the middle cabin. No noise barrier so we heard every single thing each couple were doing, conversations,walking around. We didnt get to sleep until really late as one couple where moving around talking all night,then when they woke up,we heard everything so had to get up to. We stayed two nights and had dinner and breakfast there one of the two days. The food was suprizingly good,though the strong smell of the cow poo was a huge turn off so couldnt eat there a second night. The cafe is attatched to the cow shed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If this was in the US or mainland Europe it probably would have been a lower rating, but given the area and what it normal accomodations around Ring road, this was a decent choice for a night in Myvatn. The location is right in the middle of Myvatn's many natural attractions which made it convenient. It's restaurant, the Cowshed Cafe, was great and a real surprise (I also wrote a review for it).

The actual rooms were almost like a log cabin style. Plain, clean and well, very Icelandic. I have to say, and this could be because of the busy geothermal activity in the area, that the shower here was BY FAR the stinkiest of our stay in Iceland. Holy goodness, it was actually tough to handle. The other BIG downside is that there is absolutely no sound barrier between rooms. We unfortunately stayed a night when a hoard of college kids on a group trip were sharing our row of rooms and we didn't get to sleep untilt he wee hours of the morn. Ahhh! One more note -- you have to check in and out int he Cowshed Cafe. Well a couple checking in arrived a few minutes before us so we patiently waited to get checked in. A half hour later we had lost all of our patience and ended up snacking in the Cafe until the clerk (who also was handling the restaurant register) could assist us. Very frustrating after a long day of driving!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the end of the room rows or nowhere near any other group who may be also staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was very pricey to stay in Myvatn but this was the best option for us. The room was nice and clean but very small for the four of us. The wifi didn't work in our room.

The staff was very friendly and helpful telling us about what to see in the area.

The included breakfast buffet was great. Try the fresh milk! The restaurant was great for dinner as well. One of the best meals on my trip. Very fresh ingredients!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Vogafjos for 2 nights, while we toured the Lake Myvatn. The good things first -the location is quite nice - it is far away from the city, a huge advantage when we wanted to see the Northern lights. It is on the edge of Lake Myvatn, and near all the best attractions of the place. The room was cozy and pleasant, and the breakfast spread was out of the world - really yummy, and a wide variety of food. They have an open menu from 12 noon onward, and there is some good vegetarian stuff too. The cowshed next to the restaurant is a great hit with little kids - my son loved it. The staff are friendly - and Olaf, the owner is wonderful and kind.
However, the farm is really in the middle of nowhere - not much public transport, so it might make more sense to have your own car to drive around . The rooms are across the road from the cafe and the lake, and it gets very dark in the evening - so make sure you carry your torch. There is no TV, and if you are travelling with little kids, make sure you take some books/games along with you.
On the whole, I would strongly recommend this place for an authentic Iceland experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the wooden rooms, the bigger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November 2011, usually when this area is covered by snow (which makes transport difficult), but we got lucky, no snow in sight.

Vogafjos Guesthouse, is basically a few log cabins on some farm land. The room was comfortable and had no significant issues.

The best thing about Vogafjos is it's location. Myvatn is a beautiful area and the isolation from the busy, modern world is refreshing. Vogafjos is even more isolated as it's separate from the nearest town (but not too far to walk).

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. We're vegetarian and we're struggling to find food to meet our requirements in North Iceland, but the chef here was happy to customise/create dishes for us.

Visting Myvatn was a great experience, staying at Vogafjos made it even better!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vogafjos Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogafjos Guesthouse

Address: Vogafjosi | 660 Myvatn, Myvatn, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Myvatn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Myvatn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vogafjos Guesthouse 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Vogafjos Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vogafjos Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.