We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in Kastoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vergoula's Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vergoula's Mansion to your Saves list
Vergoula's Mansion
14 Editras, Kastoria 52100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Kastoria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in Kastoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrive here looking for an hotel after a problem at the border Greece - Macedonia.
Is a wonderfull place, very clean, very friendley and with the best homemade breakfast in Greece.
Free and very FAST wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fishersville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

While touring northern Greece we stayed for two nights in this lovely "old mansion". Great location with beautiful views of the lake set in the older section of town. Nice walks along charming lanes to both the old section and the new town of Kastoria. Our room was clean with a nice firm bed but the bathroom was small. Charming feeling with lots of antiques scattered throughout. Made friends with the young proprietor who was charming and friendly and made us feel right at home. Gave us advise on several nearby restaurants. Nice breakfast along with Wifi connection. Sat outside on the brick courtyard and had a picnic lunch overlooking the lake. Parking is tricky on the narrow lanes although we found a spot nearby the mansion. A unique experience I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring Northern Greece. Lovely location and setting in old town. Beautiful views on the lake. The hotel is a restored "mansion" with lots of wood all around, scattered with antiques from all over the world. Really charming feel. Beds are firm. Bathrooms are very small. Parking was tricky but we managed with some local advice to find spots. Breakfasts were not that interesting with mostly cold/pre-made foods. Service was great with advice on local sights, restaurants, and some practical tips. Overall, however, a real "find" and I would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were not even planning to stay in Kastoria.. car broke down, we had to spend the night here, we randomly picked this place and it blew our mind.. if you like traditional "hotels"/guesthouses this is the place.. Wood wood wood and more wood.. beautiful carpets, ask for room #10 with stunning lake-view.
Room is big.
Bathroom is small/ok.
Breakfast was ok.
Impress your mate by NOT going to a typical hotel room and give him/her an experience like this.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This special hotel has great location. Rooms are nice, but bathrooms very small; if your a large person not for you. Location is very good over looking the lake and a very short walk to the city center. The 'old mansion' is well kept. Hard to find parking, but can unload bags and drive down to the lake where can find many parking spaces.

Room Tip: All rooms were small, but had enough space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the first time I saw Vergoula's Mansion in my thorough on-line research for accommodation in Kastoria I knew it was the place I wanted to stay!
When the time came and we arrived, the mansion met and exceeded our expectations!

For me the location is the best in the town! It has the best lake view, without being far from it (5 min walk) and it is located in the most traditional and picturesque area with small alleys and old buildings!(the best place for dinner, Doltso, is also in the same area).

Apart from the location, the view, the beautiful room and building (see the pictures attached) what made our trip even better was the friendly stuff who gave us the best tips for places to eat and trips! The boat ride in Prespes and the lunch in traditional tavern Prespeion in Agios Germanos is a must!!!

ps. Yes, the bathrooms are veeery small but we have seen it from the pictures from the site and that's the cost you pay for the amazing traditional mansion! After all everything is about the value for money, witch in the case of Vergoulas mansion is amazing!

Room Tip: Our room was at the first floor with lake view and it was spacious and beautiful! I was a little afr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

It's the real Bizantene house! Amazing rooms and common spaces! Bathroons are very very very small, buy still... It's a real traditional experience!
Perfect location and perfect spot of town.
Lovely breakfast and very good taste in furnituring. We have been in august (very cheap), in winter should be amazing!
Lake view of course...! L

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vergoula's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergoula's Mansion

Address: 14 Editras, Kastoria 52100, Greece
Location: Greece > West Macedonia > Kastoria Region > Kastoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Kastoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vergoula's Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vergoula's Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.