We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it, can't wait for others to enjoy too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archontiko Mesohori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Archontiko Mesohori to your Saves list
Archontiko Mesohori
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kastraki, Kalambaka 42 200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Kalambaka B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We love it, can't wait for others to enjoy too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I have been to Meteora several times but this is first time I have stayed so close to the rocks.
this hotel is awsome, so authentic to its local flavor. Angelica and her father in law Nico were great hosts. the rooms were comfortable and roomy. and the vews are outstanding just looking out our window we saw the rock/monosteries. breakfast was more than enough especially for us "Americans" who are used to eating a lot. we came with friends (Greek) from the island of Samos, who had never seen Meteora and were also impressed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Photos iin ad are very true to life. you wil enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed in throughout our month long trip in Europe. It is MUCH closer to Meteora than anything in Kalambaka. In fact, the hotel is surrounded by the giant rock formations, and a great hike is 10 walking minutes up the road from the hotel. I wouldn't recommend walking to the hotel from the train station - we tried it(passing by some of the other hotels that are listed on the hotel sites - FAR AWAY from Meteora), and my poor mother with a recently broken foot about killed me A taxi driver at the train station said it was only 1 kilometer away - he lied. =) Luckily, our friend called the hotel to tell them my mom had a broken foot, and the owner met us partway down the hill and picked us up. He and his staff were fantastic, especially Angelina, who told us where the best food was, where to get a cab, and was a fantastic host. The room was immaculate, well decorated, and had a kitchenette, which NONE of our other hotels did. I recently was Chief Maintennce Engineer at a hotel in California, and I can tell you this hotel is solidly built, and exceeds and standards I have seen at any hotel I have stayed at. The views from the hotel are gorgeous, and at the end of our long day out seeing Meteora, it was very relaxing to come back to such a wonderful and friendly place.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

First arrived to Kalambaka, beautiful small town under the Meteora rocks. The hotel is located just under the rocks in Kastraki village, which is only few minutes away from Kalambaka. Everything looked like we are in a fairytale. Beautiful hotel surrounded with rocks in a quiet location, but still very close to everything...plenty of restaurants in a walking distance, monasteries very close... The location was ideal for exploring monasteries and the area in general. We had a room on the second floor, called "Athina'' . It was a cosy apartment, in one room it was bedroom, in the other living room with fireplace and kitchen which was equipped with anything you may need in case you decide to stay in and make a meal. The best was the view from our balcony, from which we saw the sunset over the mountains and of course, Meteora rocks. Staff was very polite and after welcoming us, provided us all information we needed. We took maps, visiting hours for monasteries etc. English, greek and serbian speaking staff. Nice combination. Breakfast was excellent, it was a buffet with plenty of choices. We really appreciated free parking place for our car in front of the hotel as well. It was a great experience, we will sure come back at some point. I want to thank you for your hospitality and wish you all the best for the future!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelinaSrebric, Manager at Archontiko Mesohori, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Dear, thank you very much. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Best regards from Meteora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

First impressed how it looks out side, but the surprise is inside. Get in to room and it look that they made especially for you. Furnishing and all around looked detailed, very clean and expensive. Friendly stuff with out annoying you like most off local hotel owners by pushing you to taste their wines or cheese or other local tastes. Definitely I wouldn’t think to go anywhere else in my next visit, and full recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelinaSrebric, Manager at Archontiko Mesohori, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear,
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are very glad that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
Kind regards from Meteora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

We had made an online reservation for one night and when we arrived there they told us, they had no room, because a big group came. Through the reservation they had our tel. number and our e-mail address, so they could at least have informed us! Later they brought us to an other hotel, which was a bit far away and much worse (actually under construction!), but they wanted there the same room price. So beware and if you choose this hotel, for sure confirm your reservation before your travel!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelinaSrebric, Manager at Archontiko Mesohori, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear,
I am very sorry for your unpleasant experience from 2009.
However, we do our best these things not to happen again,
and we didn't have this problem again since then. We changed
online reservation system and our clients can be sure that their
reservation is accepted and ok.
Kind regards from Meteora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

The Archontiko Mesohori is a wonderful recently renovated traditional guesthouse located in the Old Kastraki area of Kalampaka, the gateway town to spectacular Meteora, famous for its six major remote mountain monasteries founded by Orthodox priests seeking safe refuge from Ottoman invaders. The A.M. has six two-room suites with separate bathroom and entryway. My suite (and I assume all of them) had its own individually-controlled air conditioning unit (thank god because it was over 100 degrees outside). The bathroom is a good size with a roomy shower (no tub - shampoo, bath gel, soap, and shower cap all provided) and fluffy cotton towels. Each suite is individually furnished, though all with wood floors and dark wood furniture and area rugs, that evokes a certain comfortable, romantic ambiance. In the bedroom, the linens covering the sleigh bed were very good quality and there was a flat screen TV. (Apparently some of the bedrooms have canopy beds.) The living room had a small kitchenette (two burner stovetop suitable for simple self-catering, don't know that a gourmet three-course meal would be possible), fridge, sink, dishes and cutlery for four, table for two, fireplace, fold-out sofa (double), and flat-screen TV. The fireplace, candles, and general decor hinted at a perfect place for a romatic getaway. I did notice that the rooms seemed to be fitted out for winter, because in addition to the fireplace (wood is provided for the first burn, subsequent fires are 5 euros each, though if you bring your own wood, I suppose there would be no reason to charge for the additional fires), there was a thermostat, radiators, and the A/C unit seemed to have heat settings also. Would be very romantic and cozy in winter. There is an antique phone in the bedroom and a more modern version in the bathroom. The suite, and all the public areas, are very well-kept and clean. I paid 80 euros for my suite and thought it was worth every euro.

A modest continental breakfast is provided in the charming breakfast area, and I found it quite adequate. It featured muesli and cereals, bread and pastry, sliced cold cuts and cheese, fresh fruits, greek yogurt, fried egg, butter, marmalades, honey, and orange juice. They even had filtered coffee, though it also looked like they had a cappucino machine for espressos and the like. There's a TV, fireplace, and sitting areas in the breakfast area and the bar has bottles of liquor, so even if the A.M. doesn't serve dinner, it does look like they sell drinks.

The A.M. is a family-owned and run property, and the same family owns the Hotel Oydesseon in Kalampaka center (though they spend their time in the A.M.). The A.M. has a website, but you have to book by calling directly. (If calling in Europe but outside of Greece, add 00-30 before the number.) The A.M. is located mid-way between Kalampaka center and the village of Kastraki, about 2-4 minutes by car and an easy walk to both (if it isn't 100+ degrees outside!). It's not in the center of the nightlife (such as it is), but its slightly off-the-beaten track location makes it an accessible retreat from the tourist huste and bustle. To get to the A.M., follow the main street through Kalampaka to the end. You'll see the Hotel Oydesseon. Better to stop here and get directions from the hotel staff. But you can also just follow the road to the left as it curves around the hotel. Take the first right that you can. Continue to follow the road but slow down. You'll see a taverna on your left (Taverna Xarama) and a little road directly across from it (on your right) that goes up. Turn right onto the road. Follow this road (don't veer off) for a few minutes. You'll see A.M. on your left. The owners are friendly and will help you chart out your monastery sightseeing plan.

The six monasteries of Meteora are really amazing! The first one is only about 8 minutes by car from the A.M. and the furthest is about 15 minutes. For most of the monasteries, men must wear long pants. For all of the monasteries, no tanks or sleeveless tops for men and women, and all women and girls must wear a skirt, no shorts or pants, no exceptions. And wear sturdy shoes or sandals as there are lots of steps hewn into the mountainside one must traverse to access the monasteries. The monasteries all open at 9 AM but close at different times, the latest being 6 PM. And each monastery is closed one day of the week, although all are open Saturday and Sunday. Entrance fees are 2 euros for each monastery. If you go during the summer, bring drinking water.

  • Liked — Traditional guesthouse, location, privacy, amenities, all-suite facility, friendly owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelinaSrebric, Manager at Archontiko Mesohori, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear,
Thank you very much for such a nice rating.
We hope your stay here remained like a pleasant memory to you.
Best regards from Meteora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Archontiko Mesohori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archontiko Mesohori

Address: Kastraki, Kalambaka 42 200, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kalambaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archontiko Mesohori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Archontiko Mesohori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archontiko Mesohori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.