We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid this hotel immediately” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Helene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Belle Helene to your Saves list
Belle Helene
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vathy, Gytheio 23200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Gytheio
Drama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“avoid this hotel immediately”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

One of my friend was married and they book us in this hotel. We pay 80 euro for a triple room. When i open my room door i was surprised bad... it was the worst room i ever stay. The sockets was out of their position. It was very very very old the Furniture. the bathroom was terrible.. both three friends we understood that we couldnt leave and sleep in this room. when i get down to reception and i complaint, they told me that there was full and they couldnt do anything... I told them that this room cannot exist, and i told them that i will phone to EOT. is the Greek Department of Goverment for Turism. they have only few rooms new.. and the other its very very bad... Avoid this hotel Immediately..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
athens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Very nice Location. Just 30m from the sea , very nice renovated rooms, perfect breakfast and personnel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

What a disaster!

Beautiful location, but the hotel was a nightmare. The views were great, but I feared the balcony would collapse under my 120 lbs.

This hotel stay was due to my hubby wanting drive around the Peloponesse and "take potluck". We ended up in the pot and with no luck!

Shame on Greece for allowing such hotels to still operate and charge crazy European prices. This hotel should have been closed down years ago!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Book somewhere else!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

This hotel is popular due to its location directly on the beach. From the outside it looks quite nice and there are beach umbrellas and other amenities for the guests that you would expect at a beach front resort (except beach towels). If you are not a guest you can still use the beach, however not the chairs. The problems with this hotel start when you get inside. This is basically an old and run down hotel that is in bad need of renovation with many cracked windows, rusting metal doors, questionable elevators and bare concrete walls that echo every sound. Our room was a big disappointment and we asked to have another. They told us that hotel was fully booked and there were no other rooms available. The next day we checked again for another room and they said the same thing, however the hotel parking lot was much more empty. The problems with our room had mostly to do with the bathroom which smelled bad and has no source of ventilation other than the hotel room. The toilet had a leak so water continuously dripped onto the floor. The shower (no bath) was open to the bathroom (no shower curtain) and had a sprayer with a broken hose. (I would recommend soaking in sea water and rinsing at the beach side shower as an alternative). The water pressure is very low and drops to zero at times. When this happens air gets in the pipes and makes them vibrate loudly. In terms of safety we locked all our valuables in the car since the room only had a privacy lock (no deadbolt, no peephole, and no door chain). In addition our door showed evidence of being broken into and was very lose. This made the noise from the hallway all the more loud. To their credit they did send someone to the next day to fix the leak, replace the shower hose and put a new latch on the door. However, I got the impression that repairs are not part of normal maintenance because they only did them because we decided to stay (no other vacancies in town).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Tips/Secrets — Look for villas/condos nearby area
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belle Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Helene

Address: Vathy, Gytheio 23200, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Gytheio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Helene 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3* stars seafront hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belle Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Helene Hotel Gytheio
Belle Helene Greece/Gytheio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Helene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.