We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing customer friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Antico Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castello Antico Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mavrovouni | Gytheion, Gytheio 23200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gytheio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing customer friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel at a very nice location. The hotel is new, built using the local architecture. The staff is super friendly and they go out of their way to take care of their customers. Their service is top notch and they make your stay very pleasing. Highly recommended for families and also non families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poros, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

a place where the stone the wood end sunshine are well fit toghether!the politnes end the profesionality is first of all.you can enjoy the sun &the beach any time you want is so clowse tothe place the beach.very good constraction everything was in an armonic combination.CLEAN! END FUNCTIONABLE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have 2 boys (5 & 3) and were looking for family-friendly accommodation in this corner of the Greek mainland in early June this year. My wife - who researched the trip - was impressed by the great feedback for Castello Antico on Trip Advisor and now we want to underline those endorsements. The rooms are clean and modern; the facilities - most importantly the well maintained pool and literally 30 metre walk to the beach long, dark sandy beach plus pool bar, lounge area, games in the library, excellent buffet breakfast, free wifi (with free ethernet cable provided to us for our room as signal drops out beyond main building) are great. However what really impressed us was the excellent customer service and warm welcome from the staff. From check-in to check-out we experienced courtesy and friendliness. Any questions we had or advice we sought was met with a thoughtful response. It's obvious a commitment to service has been drilled home to all staff by the Management and the application. We found the in-house restaurant a little expensive but it was very nice on the one occasion we did go for that option, with of course great service. If you want to feel welcome and are looking for a charming, friendly place to stay we highly recommend Castello Antico.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great area with a beautiful beach (mavrovouni)
hotel amenities and the friendly staff made our stay unique
Due to our wedding anniversary, hotel offered us a present to remember our wedding in the area
Hotel offers great breakfast, cocomat mattress, stone and wood decoration . Also sun beds by the beach.
Hotel has a great restaurant-you should taste local recipe spaggetti- tsouxta with eggs !!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberis, Διευθυντής at Castello Antico Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. ChrysaB,

We would like to thank you for coming back in Castello Antico Hotel to celebrate your anniversary and for posting such a positive feedback.
We are very happy to read that you had great time in our place.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Castello Antico Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnhill
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place has got to be the best hotel in the peloponese, would like to keep it a secret, but you have to try it This is 5 star, on the beech, service at its best in a fantastic part of the world
There are some fantastic places to discover nearby This was our 3rd vist and will be back again
this year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Heli, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

2 of us found this hotel by chance on a trip around the Mani...the most amazing service all staff very friendly, smiley and nothing too much trouble. Newly built in an old style in stone, with excellent décor in tune with the build and right on a 5 k sandy beach. Good restaurant with local food and all good value. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: nearest the beach , pool and restaurant are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely hotel,hospitallity and every need was personally attended to by Katerina the smilling receptionist.Don't miss the handmade breakfast.The hotel is ideally located next to the sea.
Further more the cleaning services are excellent.And many more things that worth to discover alone.!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Antico Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Antico Beach Hotel

Address: Mavrovouni | Gytheion, Gytheio 23200, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gytheio
#1 Family Hotel in Gytheio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gytheio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Antico Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
''Castello'' The mni style towerCastello Antico Hotel is built in the traditional architectural style of Mani, in 2010. It is situated on the 5 Km long sandy beach of Mavrovouni, just few Km away from the beautiful sea side town of Gythion, in Peloponnese. Exposed stone walls internally, beautiful beamed ceilings, traditional wooden windows and shutters, balconies with wooden rails as well as a stone exterior, a beautiful garden of roses and bugambilia flowers are some of the features of this hotel. The location of Castello Antico is a crossroads for tours and excursions to Areopolis, Diros caves, the picturesque Vathia, other beaches and villages of Mani area as well as to Mystras and Monemvasia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castello Antico Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Antico Beach Hotel Greece/Gytheio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Antico Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.