We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petra we love you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalypso Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalypso Studios to your Saves list
Kalypso Studios
Mavrovouni, Gytheio 23200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gytheio
Ardfern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Petra we love you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the very warm welcome to the sad farewell, Petra made sure we made the most of our 6 day stay in her lovely apartments. Nothing was too much trouble, no question went unanswered and she even gave us a bag of oranges from her own trees.
Every guest is made to feel valued. The apartment is airy, light, spacious and very comfortable and our room had a stunning view over the Gulf of Laconia made even more enjoyable with a sunset glass of wine on our balcony before going out to eat in one of the local (walking distance) tavernas.
We'd like to wish Petra every continued success and will miss her cheery presence.
Thank you Petra.

Room Tip: If you're thinking of cooking meals in the apartment, check the level of kitchen equipment provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

It was our first time visiting Gytheio and we can say that we will return next year.
We found this cozy place through internet and according to the reviews posted about the hospitality, the fantastic view to the sea and the location we enjoyed our stay very much.
Our balcony was "hanging" over the sea, it was romantic and very quiet.
The room had a small and equiped kitchen and we were offered a free of charge basket for breakfast. About 2 minutes walking, there was a bakery and a super market useful for a lunch in the room.
We found a small beach among the rocks, 5 minutes walk from the room through a path.
The room was very clean and tidy thanks to Petra!
We had a tasty dinner in a greek restaurant close by with fair prices.
We only stayed for 2 days but next year we will go back for more.

Room Tip: Find the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The apartments are a few minutes drive out of Gytheio in a small village with a supermarket, bakery, bar and a few tavernas. The rooms were dated but very clean and spacious. Petra, the manager couldn't do enough for us, she left tea, coffee, milk, French toast, butter and jam each morning in the fridge which was a lovely touch.
The views over the bay were amazing and the balcony area was very spacious. The owner has another property further down the coast with a beautiful pool, which is available for guests at the Kalypso to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent location and really fantastic welcome. The room had air con and a cooker and kettle so breakfast was easy with the supermarket just a 5 minute walk.The room we had was located on the first floor and had unhindered views over the med. The area is lovely with excellent beaches and great restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellant view, spacious room, and quiet, a few kilometers from Gytheio accessable by public bus 1.60 euros, or, Taxi (about 5 euros). Need good walking legs or wheels. lovely small village with shops, cafeterias and restaurants 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While staying at the Kalypso, the view from my bedroom window was amazing (and there was a little balcony).
The hotel is really nice and clean and the lady at the desk is very helpful and nice.
It has been a real pleasure to stay there, I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Meant to write this before now. We stayed here 10 years ago and managed to find it again last summer. Just as fab as we remembered, and the ever efficient Petra still there. She is actually German and speaks excellent English. Kalypso is spotlessly clean, quiet location just a few minutes by car from the bustle of Gythion, we did actually look at a couple of rooms before we decided. Fantastic view from the balcony. Glad of the aircon and kitchenette. If we find ourselves in this area again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalypso Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Studios

Address: Mavrovouni, Gytheio 23200, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gytheio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gytheio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gytheio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalypso studios is located in a small village on the coast called Mavrovouni, 1 km outside the town of Gythio. It is a beautiful hospitable accommodation that consists of two houses surrounded by a nice garden. It combines the liveliness of the town with the harmony of the rural life. Built on a hill it has a spectacular sea view. Close to the studios is a natural bay suitable for swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kalypso Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalypso Studios Greece/Gytheio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalypso Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.