We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel in beautiful mountain village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helmos Hotel

Helmos Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Helmos Hotel to your Saves list
Helmos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platia Eleftherias 1, Kalavrita 250 01, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kalavrita
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel in beautiful mountain village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed only one night but felt we chose well. Friendly staff, although not great English. Rooms were decent size and clean. Beds typically Greek, so very firm. No aircon, but ceiling fans more than adequate because the village is up in the mountains and the hotel located in a shady spot. Plenty of good tavernas in the village, which was attractive and vibrant. Breakfast buffet was fine - nothing special but enough to start the day. Would definitely go back there again, and stay more nights.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

The hotel is very nice and clean. The manager and his staff very kind, and ready to solve any problem you may have? Quite location. What else?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

nice room, view, service, breakfast. good choice for Kalavryta

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed here with our three kids - 1, 2, 3 years - and extended family composed of elderly parents and teenage nephews.

The hotel was special back in the 80s when we visited many times. Now, after a refurb, it's very comfortable with a lovely atmosphere, great staff and good breakfasts. We stayed with our kids in the VIP suites in the top floor - perfect - and also a great choice for our three teenaged nephews while their parents has their own room.

The hotel sits at the top of the town by a lovely square. One downside was that there were no evening meals which would have been great for us with young kids - maybe a low season thing in late March. (Plenty of fab places in the town itself.) Another was the dog fighting that kept us awake one night.

Kalavrita is supremely child-friendly - a whole pedestrianised street through this small town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Friendly and attentive service. Room was an adequate size very comfortable and immaculately maintained throughout our stay. Very comfortable mattresses. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.This is the only improvement i would suggest. The buffet breakfast was fabulous with choices to suit all tastes and Nationalities. The location is perfect overlooking the historic square. Close to shops, restaurants and bars. We got a great price for the midweek ski package but when i wanted to rebook at a peak time i found the prices were too expensive, so we booked another hotel instead. I will let you know about that one too!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens/Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We arrived late October the weather was fine and arrived by car, although the funicular is unique in Greece and the scenery the railroad goes through magnificent.
the hotel is very clean, centrally located and the staff very helpful

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Very nice location, near the local market and taverns.
Very clean hotel, with luxurious amenities!
Very friendly staff, really helpful.
Delicious breakfast! Do not forget to taste the home made deserts, especially the “loukoumades”!
We have been there for a three day holiday (March) and it was wonderful!
The area has nice taverns, but also lovely bars! If you search for historical monuments and nature, you can find them in Kalavrita!
We totally recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helmos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helmos Hotel

Address: Platia Eleftherias 1, Kalavrita 250 01, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Achaea Region > Kalavrita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kalavrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Helmos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helmos Kalavrita is the one and only 4 star hotel in downtown Kalavrita, Peloponese. The 1922 listed building has been fully refurbished and reopened in 2005. It has 28 rooms, restaurant serving traditional Greek cuisine, bar, fully equipped meeting room for up to 80 persons, wireless internet throughout and is ready to combine pleasure with business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Helmos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmos Hotel Kalavrita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helmos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.