We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren to your Saves list
Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bannwaldweg 11, 87724 Ottobeuren, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ottobeuren
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It is close to the Memmingen airport (<20 min drive), which is the only reason why we choose to stay for a night. It's a great find!

The room itself is ok, but ask for one with a balcony with view facing the swimming pool side. The view facing the snowy mountain is quite nice.

The hotel facility, including a gym, a large sauna (four different rooms with other water massage stuff) and an outdoor swimming pool (heated), is quite nice. The restaurant, unlike some unpleasant experience shared by a forumer, actually turned out quite good. It was Asparagus season when we were there and they developed special menu. We thoroughly enjoyed the selection (and the local wine to go with the food is quite nice, too).

Having been to many hotels in Europe, I do have to say this is one of the best breakfast buffet.

All in all, Ottobeuren is not a place on your typical must see list. But if you have to find a place to spend the night in the region for some reason, this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
5
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night, what a pleasant surprise this was! Room was stylish, clean, comfortable. Went for a sauna and a swim, very nice. Had dinner at the restaurant, the meal (rumpsteak) was probably one of the best I've ever had. The chef came out to check on the guests, I had to shake his hand and congratulate him for making such a simple dish a pure joy to my pallet. I'd like to go back just to have another steak!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Just returned for about 4th time from this hotel. Clean, warm, friendly staff, good restaurants. Also a nice walk in to the town. If you want a shower unit need to ask at reception. I recommend.

Room Tip: Take care to ask for a room with a shower if that's your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Granted, this property does not sell itself enough through it's web site photos or by the photo of the Tripadvisor page. Let me explain why..

Nestled in the foothills of the alps in Bavaria, approximately 2.5 hours drive from Munich at the insane speeds possible only on the German Autobahn grade roads, you arrive in the little village of Ottobeuren. Recommendation: USE GPS or a very good map, as the location is in a windy roaded village typical of such in this region.

Arriving at the Parkhotel Maximilian, your immediately struck how new it looks. This impression is consistent throughout the property. The hotel is immediately next to a forest, the Baanwald. Hiking trails abound. The village is down the road, less than 2 Kilometers walking distance around the cathedral. The entire village is picturesque and endearing. There is one Food Market and one Getrankt Market (Think beer..a warehouse of beer) in the village of Ottobeuren and several restaurants nearby.

At check in, the very polite staff makes the check in process quick and easy. All major credit cards are accepted.

The rooms are spacious and the beds cozy. As is common with that part of the world, climate control in the room is via the window being open or shut. There is a radiator in the room for additional heat. The bathroom is also spacious and has a stand up shower. My room did not have a tub, for which I was grateful.

The hotel has a single restaurant, with breakfast being included in the room price for all guests. The staff of the restaurant is very efficient and polite. The breakfast buffet was more than ample and dinner menu's offered a variety of fantastic tasty dishes.

The lower floor is dedicated to the restaurant and spa. Visit the spa. It is clean, offers every treatment you could imagine, is peaceful and relaxing, and has a small but very nice gym available. The pool (which I did not try, sadly) is salt water reverse osmosis, not chlorine treated, and has an inside entrance to float out on those cold winter days. The inside is a large solarium full of comfy padded pool chairs.

The checkout process was as painless and trouble free as the check in process, and just as polite.

One last item to note: At night, from your room window, the view is completely crisp, clear, and light pollution free. You can see stars, a blanket of them. And the silence is profound. The peace that pervades the hotel and region is good for the soul, and I plan to visit again some day on a Holiday with the family.

That is, once I shed a few pounds from the Getrankt market's beer :-)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren

Address: Bannwaldweg 11, 87724 Ottobeuren, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Ottobeuren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ottobeuren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.