We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable anniversary dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Les Remparts

Restaurant Les Remparts
36 rue Haute, 84210 Venasque, France
+33 4 90 66 02 79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Venasque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dans un cadre bucolique, une veranda et une terrasse panoramiques pour un repas (dejeuner ou diner) a deux ou en famille. Une cuisine mediterraneenne a partir de produits frais exclusivement. Tous nos plats sont faits maison.Des chambres simples mais fonctionnelles toutes equipees du Wifi et d'un televiseur. Parking prive gratuit.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A memorable anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We traveled to Provence for our 40th anniversary and were delighted to find Les Remparts for our special dinner. The food was incredible! My appetizer, a tomato and pesto tiramisu, was unique and so delicious, while my husband had a smoked and fresh salmon dish with mustard sauce. The main dishes were equally good and out of the ordinary - duck with spices and maple syrup, and sea bream and ricotta lasagna. The menu had English subtitles and between the waiters' limited English and our limited French, we had a wonderful time conversing and received excellent service. The view from the hilltop was unparalleled.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    89
    20
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view and Fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Small village with this gem. I ordered Sadine cooked with black olive , crusted with quinoa . Delicious and slow cooked vegetables for 15 €. You can choose entree , main and dessert for 32€. Tasty and fresh. Unique dish like fowl terrine , wild boar stew( seasonal in autumn), pork cheek. Like countryside cuisine with modern touch. Great view .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent food, marvelous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful lunch at Les Remparts today. We ate outside on the terrace. We each enjoyed a glass of white wine. For starters my wife had tomato pie which was absolutely delicious and I had smoked salmon salad which was also delicious. For the entre my wife had vegetable Lasagna and I had duck breast in maple syrup sauce with buttery mashed potatoes and sautéed mushrooms. For dessert we enjoyed lemon (citron) meringue pie and lavender brûlée. The meal was excellent but I would say that the lavender essence in the brûlée was a bit overwhelming. The view on the terrace is fabulous but of course you do have to put up with other patrons blowing cigarette smoke in the air throughout your meal. For that reason next time we would eat inside where there is no smoking. 60 euros laters we left having enjoyed a very lovely meal. The food was really, really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food & panorama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a small village on the top of stone hill. There are not more than 1 000 people, no petrol station, no supermarket, no traffic light but a small hotel bar & restaurant.
The food is done with good & fresh products, the chef is serving generous plates. The staff is nice & friendly which rare enough in France to be noticed :). Menu is traditional "Provencal". Not fusion cuisine but traditional & nourishing type.
When you make your reservation you must ask for a table closed to the windows or in summer ask for the terrace. When the sun goes down the view is BEAUTIFUL.
Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best within clutter of numerous pretty villages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had no expectation when we walked there from our lovely room in pretty Venasque. As the knowledgeable host advised, the place was almost full eventhough its off season. Menu is not extensive, focus heavily on regional products which was a very good time to have springs veg &fruit of the Provence on the plate. Cheese plate was so enjoyable. Did I mention the view? Staffa were helpful & not too intrusive.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Les Remparts also viewed

 
Le Beaucet, Vaucluse
Pernes-les-Fontaines, Vaucluse
 

Been to Restaurant Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Les Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.